Out Now: Prog-Rock Masters Yes Embark on Another Powerful Sonic Journey with ‘The Quest’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The Quest is a new full-length album from prog-rock icons Yes, and when we say “full-length,” we mean it. The 11-track record spans over an hour and ten minutes of soaring synth, guitar solos that stretch skyward and all of the grandiose, free-form song structures we’ve come to expect from the band over the years.

Digitally released on streaming platforms on Friday, The Quest will be available on CD on Oct. 15 and LP coming up in December.

Click here to pre-order The Quest on 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Quest on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

For example, here’s “The Ice Bridge,” which opens the record in dramatic fashion:

The Quest was produced by Yes guitarist Steve Howe, who detailed a bit about how it came about in a news release:

“Much of the music was written in late 2019 with the rest in 2020. We commissioned several orchestrations to augment and enhance the overall sound of these fresh new recordings, hoping that our emphasis on melody, coupled with some expansive instrumental solo breaks, keeps up the momentum for our listeners.”

Yes are Howe, Alan White, Geoff Downes, Jon Davison and Billy Sherwood, and The Quest marks the band’s 22nd studio album to date and the first since 2014’s Heaven & Earth. It also marks Sherwood’s first with the band since 1999’s The Ladder, as he took over for founding bassist Chris Squire following Squire’s 2015 passing.

The track listing:

The Ice Bridge 7.01
Dare To Know 6.00
Minus The Man 5.35
Leave Well Alone 8.06
The Western Edge 4.26
Future Memories 5.08
Music To My Ears 4.41
A Living Island 6.52


Sister Sleeping Soul 4.51
Mystery Tour 3.33
Damaged World 5.20

Stream The Quest below.

Related Posts