Wolf Alice: New Album ‘Blue Weekend’ Out 6/4, Shares “No Hard Feelings”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Acclaimed English indie/rock band Wolf Alice will now release its new studio album, Blue Weekend, on June 4 — one week earlier than previously planned.

The group, which won the U.K.’s coveted Mercury Prize with its 2017 album Visions of a Life, announced the news on Tuesday and accompanied the details with the premiere of a song called “No Hard Feelings.” The song, a showcase of Wolf Alice’s depth (when compared to previous pre-release track “Smile”), is an entrancing song led by gentle guitars and vocalist Ellie Rowsell’s presence:

“I started out trying to make a really cheesy almost Motown-y, Ronettes kind of song about the end of a relationship, and feeling ‘What’s the point of being miserable about it?’ But it was short, because originally it was played so fast,” said Rowsell about the song. “I tried to make it longer, but I didn’t have any more words — I had said everything I wanted to say perfectly, and didn’t want to ruin it with more. So instead we slowed it down, and I felt way more moved by it like that.”

Here’s “Smile,” premiered a few weeks back with a chaotic music video:

Click here to pre-order Blue Weekend on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Blue Weekend on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s Wolf Alice playing “Smile” on The Late Late Show with James Corden:

“The Last Man on Earth” was the first track shared from the record (and all three videos were directed by Jordan Hemingway):

Blue Weekend came about after the band — Rowsell, Joff Oddie (guitar, vocals), Theo Ellis (bass) and Joel Amey (drums, vocals) — decompressed after the lengthy time spent touring and supporting Visions of a Life in “an Airbnb in Somerset, and it was here that they reconfigured who they were together, far away from festival stages, tour buses, awards shows, and fans,” per a news release.


“They cemented their friendship and set to work on some fledgling demos in a converted church. These demos evolved into Blue Weekend, a record produced by Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Björk, Brian Eno, Florence + The Machine) who has aided the band in refining their sound to an even sharper point. Rowsell’s personal storytelling is at the core of Blue Weekend, an album that sees Wolf Alice embrace a newfound boldness and vulnerability in equal measure.”

The track listing:

1. The Beach
2. Delicious Things
3. Lipstick On The Glass
4. Smile
5. Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love)
6. How Can I Make It OK
7. Play The Greatest Hits
8. Feeling Myself
9. The Last Man On Earth
10. No Hard Feelings
11. The Beach II

Related Posts