Wolf Alice Previews New Album ‘Blue Weekend’ (First Since 2017) with New Song/Video “The Last Man On Earth”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s been a while since we heard from Wolf Alice, the acclaimed English indie/rock band that won the U.K.’s coveted Mercury Prize with its 2017 album Visions of a Life — but the group will release a new album, Blue Weekend, on June 4.

The new album was announced recently and came with the premiere of a video for “The Last Man On Earth,” a song that captures Wolf Alice’s ability to tread a delicate line between understated musical expression and powerful exposition. Directed by Jordan Hemingway, the video stars vocalist/guitarist Ellie Rowsell and begins with hushed tones before a fuller soundscape emerges halfway through.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Wolf Alice (@wolfaliceband)

It’s quite a way to announce a return after a few years away, that’s for sure:

“It’s about the arrogance of humans,” explained Rowsell about the song. “I’d just read Kurt Vonnegut’s Cat’s Cradle and I had written the line ‘Peculiar travel suggestions are dancing lessons from god’ in my notes. But then I thought: ‘Uh, your peculiar travel suggestion isn’t a dancing lesson from god, it’s just a travel suggestion! Why does everything need to mean something more?’”

Click here to pre-order Blue Weekend from our Rock Cellar Store. 

Blue Weekend came about after the band — Rowsell, Joff Oddie (guitar, vocals), Theo Ellis (bass) and Joel Amey (drums, vocals) — decompressed after the lengthy time spent touring and supporting Visions of a Life in an Airbnb in Somerset, and it was here that they reconfigured who they were together, far away from festival stages, tour buses, awards shows, and fans,” per a news release.


“They cemented their friendship and set to work on some fledgling demos in a converted church. These demos evolved into Blue Weekend, a record produced by Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Björk, Brian Eno, Florence + The Machine) who has aided the band in refining their sound to an even sharper point. Rowsell’s personal storytelling is at the core of Blue Weekend, an album that sees Wolf Alice embrace a newfound boldness and vulnerability in equal measure.”

1. The Beach
2. Delicious Things
3. Lipstick On The Glass
4. Smile
5. Safe From Heartbreak (if you never fall in love)
6. How Can I Make It OK?
7. Play The Greatest Hits
8. Feeling Myself
9. The Last Man On Earth
10. No Hard Feelings
11. The Beach II

Related Posts