Willie Nelson Premieres Video for ‘We Are the Cowboys,’ Directed By Son Micah Nelson, Just in Time for Father’s Day

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

With Father’s Day coming up this weekend, Willie Nelson chose the perfect time to premiere a new music video for a song titled “We Are the Cowboys.”

The clip was created and directed by Willie‘s son, musician Micah Nelson, and the video premiered on Friday. “We Are the Cowboys” was originally recorded by Billy Joe Shaver in 1981, and later recorded on Honky Tonk Heroes, by a collective of Shaver, Willie, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson in 1999.

Here’s the new video from Willie Nelson:

Here’s the recording from Nelson, Shaver, Jennings and Kristofferson:

This new recording of “We Are the Cowboys” is featured on Nelson’s upcoming album, First Rose of Spring, which is due out on July 3. The record was originally scheduled for release in April, but was pushed back due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Via the news release, First Rose of Spring features two new songs from Nelson and collaborator Buddy Cannon, in addition to tributes to various pop/country songwriters over the years:

Premiering 11 new Willie Nelson studio performances and featuring original artwork created by Willie’s son Micah, First Rose Of Spring finds Willie working again with longtime friend and producer Buddy Cannon and debuts two new songs co-written by the pair: “Blue Star” and “Love Just Laughed.”

Alongside his new compositions on the album, Willie pays musical tribute to a variety of pop and country songwriters and performers, interpreting songs penned by Toby Keith (“Don’t Let The Old Man In”), Billy Joe Shaver (“We Are The Cowboys”) and Pete Graves (“Just Bummin’ Around” – a song recorded by Jimmy Dean, Dean Martin and others).’

Here’s the album’s title track:

And “Our Song,” originally written by Chris Stapleton:

Here’s the album’s track listing:

  1. “First Rose Of Spring” (Randy Houser, Allen Shamblin & Mark Beeson)
  2. “Blue Star” (Willie Nelson & Buddy Cannon)
  3. “I’ll Break Out Again Tonight” (Sanger “Whitey”Shafer & Doodle Owens)
  4. “Don’t Let The Old Man In” (Toby Keith)
  5. “Just Bummin’ Around’ (Pete Graves)
  6. “Our Song” (Chris Stapleton)
  7. “We Are The Cowboys” (Billy Joe Shaver)
  8. “Stealing Home “(Marla Cannon-Goodman, Casey Beathard & Don Sampson)
  9. “I’m The Only Hell My Mama Ever Raise”d (Wayne Kemp, Bobby Borchers & Mack Vickery)
  10. “Love Just Laughed” (Willie Nelson & Buddy Cannon)
  11. “Yesterday When I Was Young” (Hier Encore) (Charles Aznavour & Herbert Kretzmer)

Related Posts