Willie Nelson Releasing New LP ‘A Beautiful Time’ on 89th Birthday (4/29); Shares “I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Willie Nelson remains a source of boundless inspiration — and on April 29, the beloved musical legend will celebrate his 89th birthday by releasing a new studio album titled A Beautiful Time. It will be the 72nd(!) solo album released by Nelson over the years (not including 2021’s The Willie Nelson Family collaborative record with his family).

Announced on Thursday, news of Willie’s new project came with the premiere of “I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die,” a tender, heartfelt country anthem penned by Rodney Crowell and Chris Stapleton. Here’s its video:

Click here to pre-order A Beautiful Time on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order A Beautiful Time on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The album’s track listing:

1. I’ll Love You Till The Day I Die
2. My Heart Was A Dancer
3. Energy Follows Thought
4. Dreamin’ Again
5. I Don’t Go To Funerals
6. A Beautiful Time
7. We’re Not Happy (Till You’re Not Happy)
8. Dusty Bottles
9. Me And My Partner
10. Tower Of Song
11. Live Every Day
12. Don’t Touch Me There
13. With A Little Help From My Friends
14. Leave You With A Smile

Five of those songs are Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon compositions, while others feature contributions from Nashville and country icons like Crowell and Stapleton. More details, per a news release:

Produced by Willie’s longtime musical collaborator Buddy Cannon (who’s cowritten six of the album’s new songs, including five with Willie), A Beautiful Time is a fully-realized new studio album showcasing Willie and Trigger (his signature guitar) playing with musicians including Jim “Moose” Brown (B-3 organ, Wurlitzer), Fred Elringham (drums), Barry Bales (upright bass), Bob Terry (electric guitar, acoustic guitar, steel guitar), James Mitchell (electric guitar) and the patented harmonic stylings of Mickey Raphael. Melonie Cannon sings backup on five of the album’s tracks.

The album’s core musical ensemble drives eight of the essential tracks on A Beautiful Time: “My Heart was a Dancer,” “Energy Follows Thought,” “Dreamin’ Again,” “Dusty Bottles,” “Me and My Partner,””Don’t Touch Me There” and two of the album’s most emotional performances: “I’ll Love You Till the Day I Die” and “I Don’t Go to Funerals.”

The album’s studio performances of two Shawn Camp songs–“A Beautiful Time” and “We’re Not Happy (Till You’re Not Happy)”–and Willie’s interpretation of the Lennon-McCartney classic (“With a Little Help from My Friends) feature Bobby Terry (acoustic guitar, electric guitar), Catherine Marx (Wurlitzer, piano, B-3 organ), Mike Johnson (steel guitar), Chad Cromwell (drums), Lonnie Wilson (drums, percussion) and Kevin “Swine” Grantt (upright bass).

Related Posts