Wilco Debuts “A Lifetime to Find”; ‘Cruel Country’ 2-LP/CD Coming in January (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Back in late May, Wilco returned with its 12th studio album, Cruel Country, the latest addition to the catalog from Jeff Tweedy and the esteemed indie/rock band.

Initially a digital release, the band has now announced plans for a physical edition, which will be released on 2-LP and CD on January 20 via dBpm.

Accompanying Tuesday’s news of the new release was the debut of a video for “A Lifetime to Find,” a Halloween-themed clip finding Tweedy, John Stirratt, Glenn Kotche, Mikael Jorgensen, Pat Sansone and Nels Cline “meeting up with a few paranormal characters at the cozy Elks Lodge in North Adams, the town in Massachusetts where the band’s beloved Solid Sound Festival takes place,” per a news release:

Click here to pre-order Cruel Country on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store — On SALE
Click here to pre-order Cruel Country on CD from our Rock Cellar Store — On SALE

What’s especially noteworthy about Cruel Country is that its songs were mostly live takes in the studio. More on the process, per a news release:

With just a handful of overdubs, and is by Tweedy’s own definition, the band’s first Country music album. Everyone was in the room, playing together at The Loft in Chicago. “It’s a style of recording that forces a band to surrender control and learn to trust each other, along with each others’ imperfections, musical and otherwise,” says Tweedy. Cruel Country is an “American music” album about “America.” If you listen closely, there’s a rough chronology of how we got here, to present-day USA. It is an album that doesn’t shy away from troubles, and there’s no denying that we’re still living in a very troubled time. “Country music is simply designed to aim squarely at the low-hanging fruit of the truth. If someone can sing it, and it’s given a voice… well, then it becomes very hard not to see. We’re looking at it. It’s a cruel country, and it’s also beautiful. Love it or leave it. Or if you can’t love it, maybe you’ve already left.”

The track listing:

1. I Am My Mother
2. Cruel Country
3. Hints
4. Ambulance
5. The Empty Condor
6. Tonight’s The Day
7. All Across The World
8. Darkness Is Cheap
9. Bird Without A Tail / Base Of My Skull
10. Tired Of Taking It Out On You
11. The Universe
12. Many Worlds
13. Hearts Hard To Find
14. Falling Apart (Right Now)
15. Please Be Wrong
16. Story To Tell
17. A Lifetime To Find
18. Country Song Upside-down
19. Mystery Binds
20. Sad Kind Of Way
21. The Plains

Related Posts