Weezer: New Album ‘OK Human’ Coming 1/29, Single ‘All My Favorite Songs’ Premiering 1/21

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The prolific streak of albums from Rivers Cuomo and Weezer will add a new entry later this month — as the alt/rock/pop band snuck up on fans with OK Human, which will be out on Jan. 29.

This will be the band’s 14th studio album to date, and the first since 2019’s self-titled black album. The lead single, “All My Favorite Songs,” will debut this Thursday, Jan. 21.

All of this information was made public by the band via cryptic social media posts and a dedicated website, unveiling the album news after a series of amusing security checkpoint challenges of the “I am not a robot” variety … the type you have to fill out repeatedly across all corners of the internet.

After several pages of these challenges, a binary code appeared revealing a password, which led to the album news and track listing:

  1. All My Favorite Songs
  2. Aloo Gobi
  3. Grapes of Wrath
  4. Numbers
  5. Playing My Piano
  6. Mirror Image
  7. Screens
  8. Bird with a Broken Wing
  9. Dead Roses
  10. Everything Happens for a Reason
  11. Here Comes the Rain
  12. La Brea Tar Pits

Beyond OK Human seemingly being a reference to Radiohead‘s classic 1997 album OK Computer, the new Weezer record comes before the release of Van Weezer, the band’s album that was supposed to be released in 2020, ahead of the (now rescheduled) Hella Mega Tour with Green Day and Fall Out Boy.

Weezer had released a few singles from Van Weezer, including the guitar-riffy “The End of the Game”:

And “Hero,” which had a music video dedicated to first responders:

The band also turned up in Bill & Ted Face the Music, offering a stylized video for a song called “Beginning of the End”:

Van Weezer is still on track for a release, just a bit later this year — on May 7, as it stands now.

Related Posts