Preview Weatherstate’s Debut LP ‘Born a Cynic’ with the Catchy, Grungy Pop/Punk of ‘Brain Dead’

Gisselle PernettCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The number of U.K.-based pop-punk bands continues to climb as Bristol punks Weatherstate announced the release of their first full-length album, Born A Cynic, out May 10 via Wire Tap Records and Failure By Design in the UK/EU.

The band previously hinted at a new album when they dropped their single, “Rotten Lungs” late last year.

The announcement of the new album was followed by the release of the music video for their newest single, “Brain Dead.”

In a press release, vocalist and guitarist Harry Hoskins shares the meaning behind their single. “Brain Dead is a song about disconnecting your feelings from yourself and your surroundings but enjoying every minute of it. This was one of the first jams we wrote for the record and the breakdown stuck out as something new for us. It was cool to throw a bit of a spanner in the works.”

Weatherstate, which includes bass player Joe Hogan, guitarist Callan Milward and drummer Toby Wrobel, have spent the year playing shows across the UK most recently playing with Canadian band, The Dirty Nil. While no plans for further touring have been announced yet, Weatherstate will be playing Bristol’s Booze Cruise Festival May 24 to 26.

Since the release of their self-titled EP in 2013, the band has released two more EPs: 2014’s Dead Ends and 2016’s Dumbstruck. Weatherstate is certainly gaining more attention since reaching 50,000 streams for “Rotten Lung” and being added to Spotify’s New Punk Tracks and Punk and Hardcore playlist.

The band’s raw, garage-y punk sound comes from incorporating 1990s’ punk elements and adding their own twist. Stay tuned for big things from them this year.

Born A Cynic Track List
1. “Ghost”
2.” Brain Dead”
3. “Barely Human”
4. “Rotten Lungs”
5. “Arteries”
6. “Sympathy”
7. “Medicate”
8. “Emma-Lynn”
9. “Nothing Matters If You Try”
10. “Rented Space”
11. “Cynic”

Related Posts