Watch a Three-Minute Trailer for Willie Nelson’s New Album ‘Ride Me Back Home,’ Out 6/21

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

There’s no reason Willie Nelson *needs* to release any more albums. He’s a living legend of the highest esteem, and he’s released so many records over the years it’d take a long time to even recount them all.

But on June 21, he’s releasing Ride Me Back Home, a new studio album (pre-order a copy here) — because that’s who Willie Nelson is. He’s a tireless creator, a musical innovator whose work has ingrained him in history in a way few artists can match. Making music is just what he does.

Here’s a preview of the album, which showcases some of the record’s key tracks and begins with Willie singing the line, “Time is my friend, my friend.”

A synopsis of the songs heard above, via the news release:

The four tracks showcased on the album trailer are: “Come On Time,” a rollicking upbeat groove co-written by Willie and Buddy; “My Favorite Picture of You,” a haunting ballad penned by Guy Clark (from his 2014 Grammy-winning Best Folk Album); “Hard to Be Humble” featuring Willie rocking out with his sons, Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson, on a tune written by Mac Davis; and “Ride Me Back Home,” an homage to horses written by Sonny Throckmorton (with his daughter Debby, Joe Manual & Lucinda Hinton) inspired by Willie’s “Luck” ranch in Texas. Willie has adopted scores of horses over the years, rescuing them from the slaughterhouse and giving them a home on his ranch.

Here’s a full music video for “Come On Time,” as seen in the clip:

This will be Nelson’s first album since the release of My Way, his record of Frank Sinatra covers, which came out in Fall 2018.

Ride Me Back Home‘s track listing:

01. “Ride Me Back Home”
02. “Come On Time”
03. “My Favorite Picture of You”
04. “Seven Year Itch”
05. “Immigrant Eyes”
06. “Stay Away From Lonely Places”
07. “Just The Way You Are”
08. “One More Song To Write”
09. “Nobody’s Listening”
10. “It’s Hard To Be Humble” (with Lukas Nelson and Micah Nelson)
11. “Maybe I Should’ve Been Listening”

Related Posts