New ‘The Velvet Underground & Nico’ Tribute Album 9/23: Iggy Pop, Michael Stipe, Kurt Vile, St. Vincent, Sharon Van Etten with Angel Olsen, More

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Sept. 23 will see the release of I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico, a star-studded compilation album honoring the legendary 1967 record.

Officially detailed this week, I’ll Be Your Mirror boasts an impressive array of participating artists, including Iggy Pop, R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, Kurt Vile, Matt Berninger of The National, Courtney Barnett, Sharon Van Etten with Angel Olsen, Matt Sweeney, St. Vincent and more.

Shared with the details of the project is a rendition of “Run Run Run” from Vile and his band, the Violators:

“Lou Reed/the Velvet Underground were probably my earliest classic rock influence,” Vile told Rolling Stone. “I loved it. The first time I heard them, I’m sure I was probably stoned. When you hear music like that, so organic and raw, but you know, so confident, all those things combined, [it’s] so cool. So unapologetic. It just has an effect on you that you can’t even necessarily detect at the moment.”

Hal Willner, noted producer who served a key role in the Saturday Night Live music department, produced this album prior to his death in April 2020.

Click here to pre-order I’ll Be Your Mirror on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order I’ll Be Your Mirror on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s the track listing:

1. Sunday Morning – Michael Stipe (3:50)
2. I’m Waiting For The Man – Matt Berninger (3:44)
3. Femme Fatale – Sharon Van Etten (w/ Angel Olsen on backing vocals) (4:43)
4. Venus In Furs – Andrew Bird & Lucius (6:55)
5. Run Run Run – Kurt Vile & The Violators (6:59)
6. All Tomorrow’s Parties – St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett (4:52)
7. Heroin– Thurston Moore feat. Bobby Gillespie (7:24)
8. There She Goes Again – King Princess (3:29)
9. I’ll Be Your Mirror – Courtney Barnett (2:27)
10. The Black Angel’s Death Song – Fontaines D.C. (3:12)
11. European Son – Iggy Pop & Matt Sweeney (7:45)

Related Posts