Van Morrison Shares ‘Only a Song,’ from New Album ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1′ Out 5/7

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Van Morrison gearing up to release a new double-album, his first music releases since a series of rather blunt “anti-lockdown” songs pushing back against COVID-19 restrictions put in place by the U.K. government.

The legendary and outspoken singer/songwriter will release Latest Record Project: Volume 1. on May 7, and on Tuesday he premiered a new track from the record. Titled “Only a Song,” the track features a rhythmic, soulful sound from Van Morrison, and as its title suggests, concerns the nature of songs themselves:

It’s only a poem, it could change in the long run, it’s only a song
It’s what I said then just to make it rhyme
Could have been on my mind at the time
Putting paper to pen, it’s only a song, it’s only a song

It’s the second song shared from the album thus far. The first, “Latest Record Project,” is also rather meta in theme:

Have you got my latest songs I’m singing? You got my latest songs I’m singing? Not something from so long ago:

Said Van Morrison of this new project and its straightforward title, in a statement:

“I’m getting away from the perceived same songs, same albums all the time. This guy’s done 500 songs, maybe more, so hello? Why do you keep promoting the same 10? I’m trying to get out of the box.”

Click here to pre-order Latest Record Project: Volume 1 on Deluxe CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Latest Record Project: Volume 1 on 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Per a news release, the expansive Latest Record Project: Volume 1 is the result of our enforced period of isolation. Unable to tour, Morrison remained busy with constant songwriting, starting ideas on piano, guitar or saxophone. What emerged is a wealth of new material, which shimmers with a directness and vibrancy that comes from working with a rhythm section with whom he shares an immediate, spontaneous connection.

Here’s the tracklisting — make note of titles such as “Stop Bitching, Do Something,” “They Own the Media” and “Why Are You On Facebook?” — as it sure looks like Van Morrison is keeping himself concerned with contemporary issues this time around:

1. Latest Record Project
2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
5. Tried to Do the Right Thing
6. The Long Con
7. Thank God for the Blues
8. Big Lie
9. A Few Bars Early


1. It Hurts Me Too
2. Only a Song
3. Diabolic Pressure
4. Deadbeat Saturday Night
5. Blue Funk
6. Double Agent
7. Double Bind
8. Love Should Come With A Warning
9. Breaking The Spell
10. Up County Down


1. Duper’s Delight
2. My Time After a While
3. He’s Not the Kingpin
4. Mistaken Identity
5. Stop Bitching, Do Something
6. Western Man
7. They Own the Media
8. Why Are You on Facebook?
9. Jealousy


  • Jim Blyth says:

    George Ivan Morrison is to be commended. He speaks to truth. In a business that doesn’t treat its elder statesmen very well, Van’s light continues to shine . In the present is what Morrisons philosophy has always been about . The term ‘ curmudgeon ‘ comes to mind. Here’s a guy that does not ‘ court celebrity ‘. I admire his bluster. And his contribution to the soundtrack of my life is immeasurable .

  • Related Posts