Tom Morello Previews ‘The Atlas Underground Flood’ LP, ft. Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett, IDLES, Ben Harper, More

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

When we last heard from Tom Morello, the revered guitarist/songwriter/DJ/cultural icon, it was just a month ago — Oct. 15, to be exact — when he released The Atlas Underground Fire, a new studio album featuring global collaborations with a wide array of special guests.

The result of some inspired work during the pandemic, Morello told Rock Cellar in an interview that the album was “as much of a life raft and an anti-depressant as anything else,” a therapeutic balm, of sorts, for the discomfort wrought by the pandemic and being stuck at home.

Well, it seems that downtime was especially inspiring, because on Wednesday Morello announced its sister album, The Atlas Underground Flood, which will be released on Dec. 3. This one finds Morello again teaming up with a host of acts from various genres, a roster including Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, IDLES, Ben Harper, Rush’s Alex Lifeson, Metallica’s Kirk Hammett, X Ambassadors, Barns Courtney, Manchester Orchestra, Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness and more.

Said Morello:

“The Atlas Underground Flood finishes what The Atlas Underground Fire started. Fire and Flood are my ‘London Calling.’ Admiring The Clash at their apex moment, I sought to make a double album where artistic intent supersedes genre. I aimed to forge a central curated vision to tie together a sonically fearless, wild, and wide-ranging musical ambition with a tremendous cast of collaborators. And of course, there are many guitar solos.”

Click here to shop Tom Morello at our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s the charged “Raising Hell,” featuring Ben Harper:

And “Human,” featuring Barns Courtney:

And “Hard Times,” featuring Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim James and Chipotle Joe:

The track listing:

1. A Radical in the Family (feat. San Holo)
2. Human (feat. Barns Courtney)
3. Hard Times (feat. Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones, and Chipotle Joe)
4. You’ll Get Yours (feat. X Ambassadors)
5. I Have Seen the Way (feat. Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett, and Dr. Fresch)
6. The Lost Cause (feat. Manchester Orchestra)
7. The Maze (feat. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness)
8. Ride At Dawn (feat. BreakCode)
9. Raising Hell (feat. Ben Harper)
10. The Bachelor (feat. IDLES)
11. Parallels (feat. Jim James)
12. Warrior Spirit (feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)

This news came just hours after Morello and grandson performed “Hold the Line,” one of the standout tracks on The Atlas Underground Fire, on The Tonight Show:

Related Posts