Tom Morello ft. Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder: Stream Their New “Highway To Hell” Cover (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Talk about an all-star tribute to an all-time classic: Tom Morello, guitarist of Rage Against the Machine and Audioslave (and accomplished solo artist/activist) shared a lively cover of the AC/DC hit “Highway to Hell,” accompanied by none other than Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder.

Springsteen and Vedder trade off vocal leads in the verses, while Morello shreds alongside them. It’s a powerhouse cover, and can be heard below:

It’s a preview of The Atlas Underground Fire, a new studio album from Tom Morello that serves as the follow-up to his 2018 album The Atlas Underground. The record is due out on Oct. 15.

Click here to pre-order The Atlas Underground Fire on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Atlas Underground Fire on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Said Morello of the album’s composition, which was recorded during the COVID-19 pandemic:

“During lockdown I had no access to an engineer so I had to record all of the guitar parts on the voice memo of my phone. This seemed like an outrageous idea but it lead to a freedom in creativity in that I could not overthink any of the guitar parts and just had to trust my instincts.

“This record was a life raft in a difficult time that allowed me to find new ways of creating new global artistic connections that helped transform a time of fear and anxiety into one of musical expression and rocking jams.”

The track listing:

1. Harlem Hellfighter
2. Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
3. Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
4. Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
5. The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
6. Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
7. Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
8. The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
9. Night Witch (featuring phem)
10. Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
11. Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
12. On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

Related Posts