Out Now: Tom Morello Jams with Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett and More on ‘The Atlas Underground Flood’ LP

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

After releasing a collaborative new album, The Atlas Underground Fire, just this past October, renowned guitarist Tom Morello has now followed it up with a sequel — and The Atlas Underground Flood was released last Friday, Dec. 3.

Another star-studded collection of songs from the musician known for his work with Rage Against the Machine, Audioslave and as a prolific solo act, Morello again teamed up with some seriously heavy hitters.

“I Have Seen the Way,” for example, finds Morello joined by not one, but two fellow guitar gods: Rush’s Alex Lifeson and Metallica’s Kirk Hammett. Listen to the trio’s anthem below, which also features Dr. Fresch:

Other guest musicians who turn up on the album include Ben Harper, Jim James of My Morning Jacket, IDLES, Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness, Rodrigo y Gabriela and more.

Click here to pre-order The Atlas Underground Flood on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Atlas Underground Flood on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Said Morello of the record:

“The Atlas Underground Flood finishes what The Atlas Underground Fire started. Fire and Flood are my ‘London Calling.’ Admiring The Clash at their apex moment, I sought to make a double album where artistic intent supersedes genre. I aimed to forge a central curated vision to tie together a sonically fearless, wild, and wide-ranging musical ambition with a tremendous cast of collaborators. And of course, there are many guitar solos.”

For more from the prolific Morello and his tireless commitment to pushing rock and roll forward, click here to read our October 2021 feature interview.

The album’s track listing:

1. A Radical in the Family (feat. San Holo)
2. Human (feat. Barns Courtney)
3. Hard Times (feat. Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones, and Chipotle Joe)
4. You’ll Get Yours (feat. X Ambassadors)
5. I Have Seen the Way (feat. Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett, and Dr. Fresch)
6. The Lost Cause (feat. Manchester Orchestra)
7. The Maze (feat. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness)
8. Ride At Dawn (feat. BreakCode)
9. Raising Hell (feat. Ben Harper)
10. The Bachelor (feat. IDLES)
11. Parallels (feat. Jim James)
12. Warrior Spirit (feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)

Listen to The Atlas Underground Flood below.

Related Posts