Tom Jones Performs on ‘Kimmel’; New Album ‘Surrounded By Time’ Out Now (and No. 1 in the U.K.!)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Legendary singer Tom Jones has officially released his new studio album titled Surrounded By Time, which features a number of cover songs that hold special significance to him. The LP was released digitally last week, and will be made available in physical formats on May 7.

Click here to pre-order Surrounded By Time from our Rock Cellar Store

As a preview of the record, Jones appeared on Jimmy Kimmel Live! this week to perform “No Hole In My Head,” his cover of Malvina Reynolds’ original version. Watch:

In the U.K., Surrounded By Time landed Tom Jones his first No. 1 album in 20 years last week, making the 80-year-old the oldest artist ever to do so with an album of new material.

“I am thrilled beyond words with the reception for Surrounded By Time, and to now hold these UK chart records is tremendous, just unbelievable,” says Sir Tom. “I am so proud of everyone who helped me create this music, I had a ball working with them and to get this result is just incredible. It’s wonderful that the public has allowed me to be musically expressive at my time of life and have shown their support. I am forever grateful.”

The album finds the powerful singer reimagining some songs that mean a great deal to him. More on the Surrounded By Time album, per a news release:

Co-produced by Ethan Johns and Mark Woodward, Surrounded By Time marks out new territory with a sonic landscape of outstanding musicianship and a vocal delivery that re-imagines a diverse set of songs of personal importance that have impacted the artist throughout a long, unpredictable but undeniably impressive career.

The track listing:

1) I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
2) The Windmills Of Your Mind (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
3) Popstar (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
4) No Hole In My Head (Malvina Reynolds)
5) Talking Reality Television Blues (Todd Snider)
6) I Won’t Lie (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
7) This is the Sea (Michael Scott)
8) One More Cup Of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
9) Samson And Delilah (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
10) Old Mother Earth (Tony Joe White)
11) I’m Growing Old (Bobby Cole)
12) Lazurus Man (Terry Callier)

Stream it below.

Related Posts