Tom Jones Previews New Album ‘Surrounded By Time’ with ‘Pop Star’ Music Video (LP Out 4/23)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Legendary singer Tom Jones recently announced a new studio album titled Surrounded By Time, which features a number of cover songs that hold special significance to him. The LP will be out on April 23.

On Monday, Jones premiered a music video for “Pop Star,” one of the album’s tracks, and one that spoke to Jones on a narrative level:

“To me, ‘Pop Star’ is all about the excitement I felt at the time of my first success, and I imagine that a great many bands and artists feel the same when things start to happen for them,” said Sir Tom in a statement. “To get your first TV records out there, to be on TV for the first time, to get your first important gigs, and to go to the bank with your first earnings… what could be better than that? This track contains all that fantastic energy and brings back great memories for me.”

Click here to pre-order Surrounded By Time on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Surrounded By Time on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Here’s another pre-release single, a video for his cover of Malvina Reynolds’s “No Hole in My Head”:

And another, for his cover of Todd Snider’s “Talking Reality Television Blues”:

Here’s a rendition of Bob Dylan’s “One More Cup of Coffee,” as well:

The album will find Jones reimagining some songs that mean a great deal to Jones. More on the Surrounded By Time album, per a news release:

Co-produced by Ethan Johns and Mark Woodward, Surrounded By Time marks out new territory with a sonic landscape of outstanding musicianship and a vocal delivery that re-imagines a diverse set of songs of personal importance that have impacted the artist throughout a long, unpredictable but undeniably impressive career.

The track listing:

1) I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
2) The Windmills Of Your Mind (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
3) Popstar (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
4) No Hole In My Head (Malvina Reynolds)
5) Talking Reality Television Blues (Todd Snider)
6) I Won’t Lie (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
7) This is the Sea (Michael Scott)
8) One More Cup Of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
9) Samson And Delilah (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
10) Old Mother Earth (Tony Joe White)
11) I’m Growing Old (Bobby Cole)
12) Lazurus Man (Terry Callier)

Related Posts