The Who Details New Album, Premieres Charged New Single ‘Ball and Chain’ — Listen

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Friday, The Who officially announced a new album — and the simply-titled Who will be released on Nov. 22 by the legendary band.

In addition to the official news unveiling, a new song titled “Ball and Chain” was premiered. Take a listen below:

Here’s the album’s track listing:

  1. ‘All This Music Must Fade”
  2. “Ball and Chain”
  3. “I Don’t Wanna Get Wise”
  4. “Detour”
  5. “Beads On One String”
  6. “Hero Ground Zero”
  7. “Street Song”
  8. “I’ll Be Back”
  9. “Break The Newse”
  10. “Rockin’ In Rage”
  11. “She Rocked My World”

The Who has performed a few new songs so far on its Moving On! tour, including “Big Cigars” — which is not included in the track listing above, though a Deluxe Edition of the album with bonus tracks does appear on Apple Music at the moment.

“Hero Ground Zero” has also been played a few times, and is on the record:

Zak Starkey, currently taking part in the Who’s tour as a live drummer, also participated in the album sessions for the new record. In a recent interview, he told he the experience was obviously rather exciting:

The album doesn’t sound like any previous Who albums, it has the vibe of a 2019 Who album. But it doesn’t sound old, it sounds brand new and super fresh.

In addition to the exciting news about a new record, the Who’s Moving On! tour will continue throughout the next month or so across North America. The remaining dates:

Sept 13 / Fenway Park / Boston, MA SPECIAL GUEST: Peter Wolf

Sept 15 / Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater / Wantagh, NY SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 18 / State Farm Arena / Atlanta, GA SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 20 / BB&T Center / Ft. Lauderdale, FL SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 22 / Amalie Arena / Tampa, FL SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 25 / Toyota Center / Houston, TX SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 27 / American Airlines Center / Dallas, TX SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Sept 29 / Pepsi Center / Denver, CO SPECIAL GUEST: Reignwolf

Oct 9 / Chase Center / San Francisco, CA SPECIAL GUEST: Liam Gallagher

Oct 11 / Hollywood Bowl / Los Angeles, CA SPECIAL GUEST TBA

Oct 13 / Hollywood Bowl / Los Angeles, CA SPECIAL GUEST TBA

Oct 16 / Viejas Arena at Aztec Bowl San Diego State University / San Diego, CA SPECIAL GUEST: Liam Gallagher

Oct 19 / T-Mobile Park / Home of the Seattle Mariners / Seattle, WA SPECIAL GUEST: Liam Gallagher

Oct 21 / Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena / Vancouver, BC SPECIAL GUEST: Liam Gallagher

Oct 24 / Hollywood Bowl / Los Angeles, CA SPECIAL GUEST: Liam Gallagher

Related Posts