Preview ‘I Don’t Wanna Get Wise,’ a ‘Retrospective’ Song from The Who’s New Album Out 12/6

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Update: “I Don’t Wanna Get Wise” from The Who is now available — stream it in full here. 

The Who was originally preparing to release a new album, Who, this week — but circumstances pushed its release back a few weeks, with a new street date of December 6.

In place of the entire album, Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey will be premiering a new single, “I Don’t Wanna Get Wise,” which the band previewed with a shimmery preview on social media on Thursday morning:

We’ve already heard a few songs from Who, most recently the defiant “All This Music Must Fade”:

And “Ball and Chain”:

Here’s the album’s track listing:

  1. ‘All This Music Must Fade”
  2. “Ball and Chain”
  3. “I Don’t Wanna Get Wise”
  4. “Detour”
  5. “Beads On One String”
  6. “Hero Ground Zero”
  7. “Street Song”
  8. “I’ll Be Back”
  9. “Break The Newse”
  10. “Rockin’ In Rage”
  11. “She Rocked My World”

Drummer Zak Starkey, who’s taken part in the Who’s magnificent Moving On! orchestral tour and was part of the recording sessions for the new record, raved about his experience working on the music in our recent interview:

The album doesn’t sound like any previous Who albums, it has the vibe of a 2019 Who album. But it doesn’t sound old, it sounds brand new and super fresh.

In addition to all this news of the new album, the Who also recently announced rescheduled dates for the recent tour, which had been postponed when Daltrey was battling illness. The new shows slated for Spring 2020:

April 27 / American Airlines Center / Dallas, TX
April 30 / Toyota Center / Houston, TX
May 2 / Pepsi Center / Denver, CO

Related Posts