The Strokes Announce ‘The New Abnormal’ Album (Band’s First LP Since 2013), Premiere Video for ‘At the Door’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Beloved NYC indie rockers The Strokes dropped some big album news on Tuesday: The New Abnormal, the band’s first full-length album since 2013’s Comedown Machine, will be released on April 10.

The news came with the premiere of an animated music video for a song titled “At the Door,” which you can watch below:

The Strokes first announced the album’s release at a Bernie Sanders rally in New Hampshire on Monday night, which was followed by the official details on Tuesday morning.

The New Abnormal was produced by Rick Rubin, and the album artwork was originally from a 1981 painting by Jean-Michel Basquiat called Bird On Money. The Strokes are singer Julian Casablancas, guitarists Nick Valensi and Albert Hammond Jr, bassist Nikolai Fraiture and drummer Fabrizio Moretti.

Here’s the track listing for the Strokes’ new album, The New Abnormal:

1 “The Adults Are Talking”
2 “Selfless”
3 “Brooklyn Bridge to Chorus”
4 “Bad Decisions”
5 “Eternal Summer”
6 “At the Door”
7 “Why Are Sundays So Depressing”
8 “Not the Same Anymore”
9 “Ode to the Mets”

“Ode to the Mets” was another song previewed early by the band, as they performed it at Barclays Center on New Year’s Eve:

Catch the Strokes on the road in the months ahead:

February 14—Berlin, DE—Columbiahalle
February 18—Paris, FR—Olympia
February 19—London, UK—The Roundhouse
February 24—Belfast, UK—Waterfront Hall
March 5—Vancouver, BC—Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena*
March 9—Seattle, WA—WaMu Theater*
March 14—Los Angeles, CA—The Forum*†
*with Alvvays
† King Princess


Related Posts