The Nerds Battled the Jocks Once Again in The Story Changes’ Throwback Video for ‘Shooting Stars’

Gisselle PernettCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

It’s a classic standoff of nerds vs punks in Ohio rock band The Story Changes‘ new music video for their lead single “Shooting Stars,” taken from their forthcoming album out this Friday, April 26.

Shot at a roller rink near front man Mark McMillon’s childhood home, the lighthearted music video is an unexpected counterpart to the track’s message, which reflects on how nothing, including ourselves, is permanent.

In a news release, Mcmillon says, “I love the feel of 80’s movies, and what’s not to love about two rival gangs of ‘nerds’ and ‘punks’ battling it out at their local roller rink? I think everyone can relate a little to the nerds as they get picked at until they finally snap and retaliate. I wouldn’t want to be on the other side of the line in that rink when the nerds say enough is enough.”

The single comes from the band’s new LP, To Hell With This Delicate Equation, which will be released via Magnaphone Records this week. In addition to the new album, The Story Changes will be playing shows across Iowa, Illinois and Ohio with their hometown album release show May 11. Pre-orders for the album and bundles can be found at the band’s official site.

Upcoming Shows:

April 26 – Dayton, OH – @ Omega Music (Acoustic set and album listening party)
May 10 – Columbus, OH @ Craft and Vinyl
May 11 – Dayton, OH @ Yellow Cab Tavern (Hometown album release show)

Album track listing:

  1. “Crying Wolf”
  2. “Shooting Stars”
  3. “Justice”
  4. “Golden Age”
  5. “Shake”
  6. “Bend and Break”
  7. “Where to Start”
  8. “Pass You By”
  9. “Forever Above”
  10. “Monsters”
  11. “First Cut”
  12. “Cleveland”

Related Posts