The Smile (ft. Radiohead’s Thom Yorke & Jonny Greenwood) Shares Stop-Motion Video for “Thin Thing”

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This Friday, May 13, The Smile — an experimental/indie supergroup of sorts featuring Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner — will release A Light for Attracting Attention, their debut full-length album.

On Tuesday, the group debuted a music video for “Thin Thing,” and it’s a sight to behold. A stop-motion clip from directors Cristóbal León and Joaquín Cociña that apparently took six months to put together, its jarring visuals match the song’s jangly rhythms quite effectively.

“Hearing the song for the first time, we imagined a frenetic fluid that carries machines, pieces of human bodies and carnivorous plants,” said the directors in a statement. “When presenting the idea to the band, Thom told us about a dream that made him write the song. We believe the video is the conjunction of these two things.”

It’s the second song shared so far from the album, following “Free in the Knowledge”:

Click here to pre-order A Light for Attracting Attention on CD from our Rock Cellar Store (Release Date June 17)
Click here to pre-order A Light for Attracting Attention on LP from our Rock Cellar Store (Release Date June 17)

The track listing:

1. The Same
2. The Opposite
3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
4. Pana-Vision
5. The Smoke
6. Speech Bubbles
7. Thin Thing
8. Open the Floodgates
9. Free in the Knowledge 04:12
10. A Hairdryer
11. Waving a White Flag
12. We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
13. Skrting on the Surface

For this album, Yorke, Greenwood and Skinner worked with producer Nigel Godrich and Bob Ludwig (mastering), and the whole thing features “strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contempoarary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.”

Emily Herring attended the Smile’s London performances that were aired as a global live stream event. Here’s a bit from her review, capturing the vibe of the performance:

As ever with Yorke and Co., there is no point in trying to confine the sound to a well-defined genre. The songs are infused with an eclectic mix of influences, ranging from post-punk to jazzy rhythms and electronic beats. Yorke and Greenwood have built a career on surprising themselves (and by extension their fans) by consistently refusing to conform to any work routine, or to any preconceived idea of what they should sound like. The Smile is no different. Of course, almost inevitably, the new material is evocative of Radiohead’s sensibilities, but there is a novel energy to this venture that seems much more spontaneous and informal than anything Radiohead has ever done.

There is no doubt something liberating about no longer being weighed down by the heavy expectations of the Radiohead machine.

Related Posts