The Smile (ft. Radiohead’s Thom Yorke & Jonny Greenwood) Releasing Debut LP 5/13, Shares Song

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

The Smile, the new supergroup made up of Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner, will release its debut full-length album, A Light for Attracting Attention, on May 13.

Click here to pre-order A Light for Attracting Attention on CD with booklet from our Rock Cellar Store

The news was announced on Wednesday and comes after the band released an introductory EP (and played some amazing live gigs in London) in recent months.

An intense new music video for a song called “Free in the Knowledge” accompanied the news:

More on the record:

The 13-track album was produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich and mastered by Bob Ludwig. Tracks feature strings by the London Contemporary Orchestra and a full brass section of contemporary UK jazz players including Byron Wallen, Theon and Nathaniel Cross, Chelsea Carmichael, Robert Stillman and Jason Yarde.

And the track listing for A Light for Attracting Attention:

  1. The Same
  2. The Opposite
  3. You Will Never Work in Television Again
  4. Pana-vision
  5. The Smoke
  6. Speech Bubbles
  7. Thin Thing
  8. Open The Floodgates
  9. Free In The Knowledge
  10. A Hairdryer
  11. Waving A White Flag
  12. We Don’t Know What Tomorrow Brings
  13. Skrting On The Surface

Emily Herring attended the Smile’s London performances that were aired as a global live stream event. Here’s a bit from her review, capturing the vibe of the performance:

As ever with Yorke and Co., there is no point in trying to confine the sound to a well-defined genre. The songs are infused with an eclectic mix of influences, ranging from post-punk to jazzy rhythms and electronic beats. Yorke and Greenwood have built a career on surprising themselves (and by extension their fans) by consistently refusing to conform to any work routine, or to any preconceived idea of what they should sound like. The Smile is no different. Of course, almost inevitably, the new material is evocative of Radiohead’s sensibilities, but there is a novel energy to this venture that seems much more spontaneous and informal than anything Radiohead has ever done.

There is no doubt something liberating about no longer being weighed down by the heavy expectations of the Radiohead machine.

Related Posts