The Replacements/Rhino Records Reissuing ‘Pleased to Meet Me’ on 10/9 (Preview/Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Originally released in 1987, Pleased to Meet Me is the fifth studio album from The Replacements and holds a place in the group‘s vaunted history as the only album the band released as a trio — Paul Westerberg, Tommy Stinson and Chris Mars (following the departure of guitarist Bob Stinson). The album also features two of the band’s most well-known songs in “Alex Chilton” and “Can’t Hardly Wait.”

On Oct. 9, Rhino Records will release a detailed reissue of the album, more than 50 percent of the material previously unreleased.

(Click here to pre-order the Pleased to Meet Me reissue from our Rock Cellar Store).

Here’s what the Deluxe Edition of the reissue promises:

  • New remaster of the original album by Justin Perkins, who was also behind the boards for our Dead Man’s Pop regimaging
  • 1986 demo session with Bob Stinson – his last recorded Replacements performance, with his guitar tracks reinstated for the first time
  • Additional 1986 demos with the band as a three-piece outfit (sans Bob)
  • Previously unreleased rough mix of the album with alternate track listing
  • Studio outtakes from the album recording sessions (Memphis, 1987)
  • Rare single mixes

More, via our Store:

More than half of the music (29 tracks) on this Deluxe Edition set has never been released, including demos, rough mixes, and outtakes as well as Bob Stinson’s last recordings with The Replacements from 1986.

The music is presented in a 12 x 12 hardcover book loaded with dozens of rarely seen photos along with a detailed history of the Pleased To Meet Me era written by Bob Mehr, who authored The New York Times bestseller, Trouble Boys: The True Story of the Replacements.

Pleased To Meet Me was recorded over three months at Ardent Studios in Memphis with legendary producer Jim Dickinson before it debuted in June 1987. The collection opens with a newly remastered version of the original 11-track album along with a selection of B-sides and a version of “Can’t Hardly Wait” that was remixed by Jimmy Iovine. All of the music included in this boxed set has been remastered by Justin Perkins, who remastered the band’s widely acclaimed 2019 boxed set, Dead Man’s Pop.

And the track listing:

1. I.O.U. (2020 Remaster)
2. Alex Chilton (2020 Remaster)
3. I Don’t Know (2020 Remaster)
4. Nightclub Jitters (2020 Remaster)
5. The Ledge (2020 Remaster)
6. Never Mind (2020 Remaster)
7. Valentine (2020 Remaster)
8. Shooting Dirty Pool (2020 Remaster)
9. Red Red Wine (2020 Remaster)
10. Skyway (2020 Remaster)
11. Can’t Hardly Wait (2020 Remaster)
12. Election Day (2020 Remaster)
13. Jungle Rock (2020 Remaster)
14. Route 66 (2020 Remaster)
15. Tossin’ n’ Turnin’ (2020 Remaster)
16. Cool Water (2020 Remaster)
17. Can’t Hardly Wait (Jimmy Iovine Remix) [2020 Remaster]
1. Bundle Up (Demo)
2. Birthday Gal (Demo)
3. I.O.U. (Demo)
4. Red Red Wine (Demo)
5. Photo (Demo)
6. Time Is Killing Us (Demo)
7. Valentine (Demo)
8. Awake Tonight (Demo)
9. Hey Shadow (Demo)
10. I Don’t Know (Demo)
11. Kick It In (Demo 1)
12. Shooting Dirty Pool (Demo)
13. Kick It In (Demo 2)
14. All He Wants to Do Is Fish (Demo)
15. Even If It’s Cheap (Demo)
1. Valentine (Rough Mix)
2. Never Mind (Rough Mix)
3. Birthday Gal (Rough Mix)
4. Alex Chilton (Rough Mix)
5. Election Day (Rough Mix)
6. Kick It In (Rough Mix)
7. Red Red Wine (Rough Mix)
8. The Ledge (Rough Mix)
9. I.O.U. (Rough Mix)
10. Can’t Hardly Wait (Rough Mix)
11. Nightclub Jitters (Rough Mix)
12. Skyway (Rough Mix)
13. Cool Water (Rough Mix)
14. Birthday Gal (2020 Remaster)
15. Learn How to Fail
16. Run for the Country
17. All He Wants to Do Is Fish (2020 Remaster)
18. I Can Help (Studio Outtake)
19. Lift Your Skirt
20. Till We’re Nude (2020 Remaster)
21. Beer for Breakfast (2020 Remaster)
22. Trouble on the Way
23. I Don’t Know (Out Take) [2020 Remaster]
1. Valentine (Rough Mix)
2. Never Mind (Rough Mix)
3. I.O.U. (Rough Mix)
4. Can’t Hardly Wait (Rough Mix)
5. Election Day (Rough Mix)
6. Kick It In (Rough Mix)
7. Cool Water (Rough Mix)

Related Posts