The Pretenders: New Album 'Alone' Due 10/21, Produced by Black Keys' Dan Auerbach

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Things are getting busy for Chrissie Hynde and the Pretenders – what with the news of their big tour alongside Stevie Nicks and, it was revealed Wednesday, a new record!
Alone, the first Pretenders album since 2008, will be released on October 21 and was produced by Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys. Originally, Alone was set to be the follow-up to Hynde’s 2014 solo album Stockholm, but as the sessions in Nashville progressed it became a full-band project.
From the press release:
Chrissie Hynde recorded the album in Nashville with Dan Auerbach, from The Black Keys, who stood as captain, producer and multi-instrumentalist on the record, an album which sees Chrissie at her searingly honest, most incisive best.
The full band joining Chrissie and Dan on the album features Johnny Cash’s former bass player Dave Roe and country rocker Kenny Vaughan on guitar plus sundry members of Dan Auerbach’s side project The Arcs: Richard Swift, drums, Leon Michels, keyboards and Russ Pahl providing sly curlicues of pedal steel. The album was mixed by Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello). Duane Eddy also features on the punchy ‘Never Be Together’.
Of the new album Chrissie Hynde said the following: “This record is what I love the most – real people playing real music. I sang and recorded every vocal in a 48 hour period – 48 hours to sing them, 40 years of preparation!”
The track listing for the record, which is up for pre-order at the Pretenders’ official site:

  1. Alone
  2. Roadie Man
  3. Gotta Wait
  4. Never Be Together
  5. Let’s Get Lost
  6. Chord Lord
  7. Blue Eyed Sky
  8. The Man You Are
  9. One More Day
  10. I Hate Myself
  11. Death Is Not Enough 
  12. Holy Commotion (BONUS TRACK)

Related Posts