Watch a Teaser for Rob Zombie’s New ‘The Munsters’ Movie — in Full, Vibrant Color!


Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In addition to his lengthy music career as a hard rock/metal/industrial icon, Rob Zombie has built a similarly impressive resume as a filmmaker, known primarily for horror films like House of 1,000 Corpses, its sequel The Devil’s Rejects and a pair of brutal Halloween remakes, among other titles.

His latest film project is a big screen version of The Munsters, the beloved 1960s’ sitcom — but don’t worry, this one’s not a gritty, violent reboot.

You can glean as much from the teaser trailer, which landed this week:

“Yeah, it’s 100 percent in the spirit of the show,” said Zombie of his style for the film to EW. “I didn’t want it to be different. I wanted to totally retain the vibe that it had in the ’60s.”

As with much of his film work, Zombie wrote, produced and directed The Munsters, which stars his wife, Sheri Moon Zombie (as Lily Munster), Jeff Daniel Phillips (as Herman Munster), Daniel Roebuck (as Grandpa) and Sylverster McCoy (Igor), to name a few.

The film will also be in color, a difference from the classic TV series. As Zombie explained to EW:

“I knew that if I went in and demanded ‘This movie’s going to be in black and white or forget it!’ we would not be talking about the Munsters right now, because it would have never happened. I guaran-f—ing-tee it,” says the director. “But what I did do is I made the colors sort of hyper-real. I noticed when the actors were in their makeup and they were just walking around, getting lunch or whatever, they looked like cartoon characters come to life. They were just so insanely colorful. I was like, I have to light the movie in the same fashion. It really seemed at all times like a live action cartoon, which was really exciting.”

Rob Zombie’s The Munsters is expected to be released in the fall, simultaneously in theaters and on the Peacock streaming app.

This summer, catch Zombie on the Freaks on Parade tour with Mudvayne, Static-X and Powerman 5000:

Wed Jul 20 – Maryland Heights, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – St. Louis, MO
Thu Jul 21 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Music Centre
Sat Jul 23 – Bristow, VA – Jiffy Lube Live
Sun Jul 24 – Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion
Tue Jul 26 – Tampa, FL – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Wed Jul 27 – Atlanta, GA – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre
Fri Jul 29 – Camden, NJ – Waterfront Music Pavilion
Sat Jul 30 – Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center
Sun Jul 31 – Holmdel, NJ – PNC Bank Arts
Tue Aug 02 – Burgettstown, PA – The Pavilion at Star Lake
Wed Aug 03 – Cuyahoga Falls, OH – Blossom Music Center
Fri Aug 05 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sat Aug 06 – Council Bluffs, IA – Westfair Amphitheater*
Wed Aug 10 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre
Fri Aug 12 – Irvine, CA – FivePoint Amphitheatre
Sat Aug 13 – Las Vegas, NV – Michelob ULTRA Arena
Sun Aug 14 – Chula Vista, CA – North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre
Tue Aug 16 – Albuquerque, NM – Isleta Amphitheater
Thu Aug 18 – Del Valle, TX – Germania Insurance Amphitheater
Sat Aug 20 – Fort Worth, TX – Dickies Arena
Sun Aug 21 – The Woodlands, TX – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
*Not a Live Nation Date



Related Posts