The London Suede Previews New Album ‘Autofiction’ with 18-Minute Short Film; LP Out 9/16

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Long-running English rock band Suede (a.k.a. The London Suede here in the United States) will release a new studio album titled Autofiction on Sept. 16, via BMG.

The group previewed the album in recent weeks with two songs. Here’s “She Still Leads Me On”:

And “15 Again”:

On Thursday, the London Suede debuted an 18-minute Autofiction short film to accompany the album release:

Click here to pre-order Autofiction on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Autofiction on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The album’s track listing:

1. She Still Leads Me On
2. Personality Disorder
3. 15 Again
4. The Only Way I Can Love You
5. That Boy on the Stage
6. Drive Myself Home
7. Black Ice
8. Shadow Self
9. It’s Always the Quiet Ones
10. What Am I Without You?
11. Turn Off Your Brain and Yell


A news release describes the band, which rose to prominence in the early 1990s in the then-burgeoning Britpop scene alongside groups like BlurOasis and Pulp, as going “back to basics” for this record:

Whilst writing the songs that would make up the album, Brett Anderson, Mat Osman, Simon Gilbert, Richard Oakes and Neil Codling schlepped to a rehearsal studio in deserted Kings Cross to collect a key, hump their own gear, set up and start playing. Recorded live at Konk studios in North London, The London Suede teamed with long-time collaborator Ed Buller. Ed first worked with the band producing their debut single “The Drowners,” which sees its 30th anniversary this year.

“Autofiction has a natural freshness, it’s where we want to be,” says Brett Anderson. And where The London Suede want to be is, in a way, the same place as they were when they began 30 years ago – a group of people living off the raw sensation of creating music together in a room.

Stay tuned for more from the band and its new record, which the London Suede will support with a series of shows this fall:

September 2022 UK Record Shop Tour

15 Banquet Records, Kingston (live performance) SOLD OUT
16 Rough Trade East, Shoreditch (live performance) SOLD OUT
17 Crash Records/Brudenell Social Club, Leeds (live performance) SOLD OUT
18 Rough Trade / Fleece, Bristol (live performance) SOLD OUT
19 HMV, Liverpool (signing and Q&A) SOLD OUT
19 HMV, Manchester (signing) SOLD OUT
20 Bear Tree Records, Sheffield (signing) SOLD OUT
20 Rough Trade, Nottingham (signing) SOLD OUT
21 Truck Records, Oxford (signing) SOLD OUT
21 Fopp, Cambridge (signing) SOLD OUT
22 Vinilo, Southampton (signing) SOLD OUT
22 HMV, Portsmouth (signing) SOLD OUT

October 2022 Intimate UK/EU Tour Dates
05 Electric Ballroom, London SOLD OUT
06 Electric Ballroom, London SOLD OUT
08 Melkweg – Oude Zaal, Amsterdam SOLD OUT
10 La Maroquinerie, Paris SOLD OUT
11 Gloria-Theatre, Cologne
12 Gruenspan, Hamburg


  • Lira Maywood says:

    Great article, except the writer got the title of the first single wrong. It’s SHE STILL LEADS ME ON.

    • Rock Cellar says:

      thanks for the note, Lira — the band’s official music video seems to have titled it incorrectly, too — hence our mistake! 😉

  • Related Posts