The Hold Steady Premiere ‘Denver Haircut,’ New Album ‘Thrashing Through the Passion’ Coming 8/16

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On August 16, the Hold Steady will return with a new studio album titled Thrashing Through the Passion — marking the beloved Brooklyn indie/rock band’s first proper studio album since 2014’s Teeth Dreams.

The new record combines five new recordings with five digitally-released songs the band put out there between late 2017 and early 2019.

The set was previewed with an engaging track titled “Denver Haircut” on Wednesday:

Said band leader Craig Finn of the new song:

“I’ve been saying for a few years now – since Franz came back- that this six piece lineup of The Hold Steady is the best band we’ve ever been. The new songs recorded by this version of the band are super exciting to us. It’s been a very fun and creative period for The Hold Steady.”

The Hold Steady is Bobby Drake (drums), Craig Finn (vocals), Tad Kubler (guitar, vocals), Franz Nicolay (keyboards), Galen Polivka (bass), and Steve Selvidge (guitar, vocals).

Here’s the track listing for Thrashing Through the Passion:

1. “Denver Haircut”
2. “Epaulets”
3. “You Did Good Kid”
4. “Traditional Village”
5. “Blackout Sam”
6. “Entitlement Crew”
7. “T-Shirt Tux”
8. “Star 18”
9. “The Stove & The Toaster”
10. “Confusion In The Marketplace”

The band has a handful of tour dates coming up later this summer:

15-17 – Seattle, WA – The Crocodile

22 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall
23 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle – SOLD OUT
24 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall – SOLD OUT

5-7 – Nashville, TN – Basement East
12-15 – Boston, VA – The Sinclair

4-7 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl – (December 7 SOLD OUT)

Related Posts