The Explorers Club’s ‘Look to the Horizon’ is a Shimmery Slice of Vintage California Pop — from Nashville! (Two LPs Coming 6/12)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On June 12, two albums will be released by The Explorers Club — an indie/beach pop outfit fronted by Jason Brewer. The project is based out of Nashville via South Carolina, but listening to Brewer’s music you’d be surprised its roots aren’t firmly planted in Hawthorne, California (the birthplace of the Beach Boys).

For example, here’s a song titled “Look to the Horizon,” which Rock Cellar is proud to share:

That’s a slice of sun-baked pop perfection, isn’t it?

Here’s another new song, “Ruby,’ which will also be included in The Explorers Club’s self-titled album of original compositions:

The track listing for The Explorers Club self-titled record:

1) Ruby
2) One Drop of Rain
3) Love So Fine
4) Mystery
5) Don’t Cry
6) It’s Me
7) Dawn
8) Dream World
9) Say You Will
10) Somewhere Else
11) Dreamin’
12) Look To the Horizon

The second album due on June 12 is To Sing And Be Born Again, a collection of reverent covers paying tribute to the likes of Herb Alpert, the Zombies and more. To preview that LP, here’s “I Wonder What She’s Doing Tonight,” first recorded by Tommy Boyce & Bobby Hart:

“I still get asked about those songs, so there is obviously a demand for a covers album,” Jason Brewer states. “I had a brand new album just about finished, which I think is one of the strongest things I’ve ever done. I figured I’ve got access to all this studio time and I’ve got some players to pull in to do it, so I’ll do an album of ‘60s covers, too. I just got to work and I finished both albums at the same time. It was an opportunity to give back to our hardcore followers who have loved the band for over ten years now.”

Here’s the track listing for To Sing and Be Born Again, which features appearances from Steven Page of Barenaked Ladies and Jay Gonzalez of the Drive-By Truckers:

1) I Wonder What She’s Doing Tonight (originally by Tommy Boyce & Bobby Hart)
2) She’d Rather Be With Me (originally by The Turtles)
3) Roses And Rainbows (originally by Danny Hutton)
4) Kicks (originally by Paul Revere & The Raiders)
5) Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn) (written by Bob Dylan, originally released by Manfred Mann)
6) Maybe After He’s Gone (originally by The Zombies)
7) Can’t Find The Time* (originally by Orpheus)
8) Didn’t Want To Have To Do It^ (originally by The Lovin’ Spoonful)
9) This Guy’s In Love With You (originally by Herb Alpert)
10) The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore (originally by Frankie Valli, covered by The Walker Brothers)

Related Posts