Black Keys Preview Blues Covers Album with New Video for Their Take on R.L. Burnside’s “Going Down South”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney of The Black Keys will honor what came before and shaped their dynamic, two-piece blues/rock sound on May 14 with Delta Kream, an 11-track album of covers paying tribute to 11 Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, per a news release.

On Monday, the duo shared a preview of the record in the form of their take on “Going Down South,” a classic originally recorded by the late R.L. Burnside. Here’s their new video:

“That was one of R.L. Burnside’s hits,” said Auerback in a statement about the cover. “We strayed a little from the original on our version with the falsetto and percussion, but we liked how it sounded in that moment. It’s become one of my favorites on the album.”

“Going Down South” is the second track shared ahead of Delta Kream, following “Crawling Kingsnake,” their rendition of John Lee Hooker’s version of the blues standard that Hooker released in 1949:

Said Auerbach of this song: “I first heard [John Lee] Hooker’s version in high school. My uncle Tim would have given me that record. But our version is definitely Junior Kimbrough’s take on it. It’s almost a disco riff!”

Added Carney: “We fell into this drum intro; it’s kind of accidental. The ultimate goal was to highlight the interplay between the guitars. My role with Eric was to create a deeper groove.”

Click here to pre-order Delta Kream on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Delta Kream on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Per a news release, the Black Keys will perform “Going Down South” & “Crawling Kingsnake” on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on May 14th. The performances were filmed in Mississippi and feature musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, long-time members of the bands of blues legends including R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, and Sam Bacco on auxiliary percussion.

Here’s the track listing for Delta Kream:

1. Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
2. Louise (Fred McDowell)
3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
4. Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
5. Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
6. Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
7. Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
9. Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
10. Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
11. Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Related Posts