The Black Keys Share Video for Their Cover of R.L. Burnside’s Blues Classic “Poor Boy a Long Way from Home”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Back in mid-May, The Black Keys released Delta Kream, an 11-track album of covers paying tribute to 11 Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, per a news release. It was an inventive way for Dan Auerbach (guitars/vocals) and Patrick Carney (drums) to honor the many inspirations that went into the pair honing their craft over the years, and their reverence for the material shines throughout the record.

One of the classics covered on the set is “Poor Boy a Long Way from Home,” originally by R.L. Burnside. For that track, the two teamed with Kenny Brown on guitar and Eric Deaton on bass for a lively performance-based music video filmed at Jimmy Duck Holmes’ Blue Front Café in Bentonia, Mississippi.

Click here to pick up Delta Kream on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Delta Kream on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Going Down South” is another Burnside song featured on Delta Kream:

The full track listing:

1. Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
2. Louise (Fred McDowell)
3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
4. Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
5. Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
6. Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
7. Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
9. Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
10. Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
11. Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

The Black Keys also have a handful of live dates coming up in September.

9/20 Athens, GA – The Classic Center
9/21 St Petersburg, FL – Jannus Live
9/23 Oxford, MS – The Lyric

Listen to Delta Kream below.

Related Posts