The Black Keys: ‘Delta Kream,’ New Blues Covers Album, Coming 5/14 — Stream “Crawling Kingsnake” (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney of The Black Keys wouldn’t be who they are today without their blues/rock roots, and on May 14 the dynamic two-piece will honor what came before with Delta Kream, an 11-track album of covers paying tribute to 11 Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, per a news release.

When released, Delta Kream will be the Black Keys’ tenth studio album to date and the follow-up to 2019′ Let’s Rock.

At present, the first track available from the album is “Crawling Kingsnake,” their rendition of John Lee Hooker’s version of the blues standard that Hooker released in 1949. Listen below:

Said Auerbach of this song: “I first heard [John Lee] Hooker’s version in high school. My uncle Tim would have given me that record. But our version is definitely Junior Kimbrough’s take on it. It’s almost a disco riff!”

Added Carney: “We fell into this drum intro; it’s kind of accidental. The ultimate goal was to highlight the interplay between the guitars. My role with Eric was to create a deeper groove.”

Click here to pre-order Delta Kream on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Delta Kream on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

the black keys delta kream album

Here’s the track listing for Delta Kream:

1. Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
2. Louise (Fred McDowell)
3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
4. Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
5. Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
6. Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
7. Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
9. Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
10. Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
11. Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Related Posts