Out Now: The Black Keys Inventively Honor Their Blues Influences with New Covers LP ‘Delta Kream’ (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney of The Black Keys wouldn’t be who they are today without their blues/rock roots, today, May 14, the dynamic two-piece honored some of its biggest inspirations with Delta Kream, an 11-track album of covers paying tribute to 11 Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, per a news release.

The collection is the Black Keys’ tenth studio album to date and the follow-up to 2019′s Let’s Rock. It was previewed in recent weeks with a couple of tracks, including their rendition of “Going Down South,” originally by R.L. Burnside:

Click here to pick up Delta Kream on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up Delta Kream on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

In promotion of the release, the Black Keys will perform “Going Down South” & “Crawling Kingsnake” on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert tonight, May 14. The performances were filmed in Mississippi and feature musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, long-time members of the bands of blues legends including R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, and Sam Bacco on auxiliary percussion.

Here’s the track listing for Delta Kream:

1. Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
2. Louise (Fred McDowell)
3. Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
4. Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
5. Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
6. Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
7. Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
8. Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
9. Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
10. Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
11. Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Related Posts