The Black Crowes Detail 30th Anniversary ‘Shake Your Money Maker’ Set Out 2/26; Premiere ‘Charming Mess’


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

2020 was supposed to be a big year for The Black Crowes, as the blues/rock band helmed by brothers Chris and Rich Robinson was going to tour heavily in support of the 30th anniversary of the band’s breakthrough debut album, 1990’s Shake Your Money Maker.

COVID-19 ensured that tour didn’t happen, of course, with the dates being pushed to Summer 2021 pending any further changes. Despite the setback, the Crowes are starting 2021 with a bang, and will release a big new 30th anniversary edition of the record.

The news was announced officially on Friday and came with the premiere of a song called “Charming Mess,” a song that holds the interesting title of being the album’s original lead single, before that decision was scrapped and the song cut from the album entirely.

As for the reissue, the 30th anniversary revisiting of Money Maker will be released across multiple formats on Feb. 26.

Click here to pre-order the CD edition from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order the 2-CD set from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order the 3-CD Super Deluxe Edition from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order the LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order the 4-LP Super Deluxe Edition from our Rock Cellar Store

The 4-LP and 3-CD editions pack the most material, offering the original album, remastered; 3 never-before-heard studio recordings; 2 unreleased demos from the band’s early incarnation as Mr. Crowe’s Garden; B-sides; a spectacular, high-energy 14-song unreleased concert recorded in their hometown of Atlanta, GA in December 1990; reproductions of an early Mr. Crowe’s Garden show flyer, setlist and tour laminate; a 4″ Crowes patch; and a 20-page book with liner notes by David Fricke.

As for the rescheduled 2021 tour dates, here’s the itinerary as it looks now — again, pending any further adjustments.

Fri, Jun 25 Tampa, FL MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Sat, Jun 26 West Palm Beach, FL iTHINK Financial Amphitheatre
Tue, Jun 29 Birmingham, AL Oak Mountain Amphitheatre
Wed, Jun 30 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Fri, Jul 2 Raleigh, NC Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek
Sat, Jul 3 Atlanta, GA Cellairis Amhitheatre at Lakewood
Tue, Jul 6 Nashville, TN Ascend Amphitheatre
Wed, Jul 7 Nashville, TN Ascend Amphitheatre
Fri, Jul 9 Washington, DC Jiffy Lube Live
Sat, Jul 10 Bethel, NY Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Tue, Jul 13 Camden, NJ BB&T Pavilion
Wed, Jul 14 Pittsburgh, PA S&T Bank Music Park
Fri, Jul 16 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Sat, Jul 17 Wantagh, NY Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Tue, Jul 20 Boston, MA Xfinity Center
Thu, Jul 22 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Sat, Jul 24 Gilford, NH Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion
Sun, Jul 25 Hartford, CT XFINITY Theatre
Tue, Jul 27 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage
Thu, Jul 29 Detroit, MI DTE Energy Music Theatre
Sat, Jul 31 St Louis, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sun, Aug 1 Indianapolis, IN Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Tue, Aug 3 Cincinnati, OH Riverbend Music Center
Wed, Aug 4 Cleveland, OH Blossom Music Center
Sat, Aug 7 Chicago, IL Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sun, Aug 8 Milwaukee, WI American Family Insurance Ampitheater
Tue, Aug 10 Rogers, AR Walmart AMP
Wed, Aug 11 Dallas, TX Dos Equis Pavilion
Sat, Aug 14 Houston, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Presented by Huntsman
Sun, Aug 15 Austin, TX Germania Insurance Amphitheater
Wed, Aug 18 San Diego, CA North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre
Thu, Aug 19 Los Angeles, CA The Forum
Sat, Aug 21 Concord, CA Concord Pavilion
Sun, Aug 22 San Francisco, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre
Wed, Aug 25 Portland, OR Sunlight Supply Amphitheater
Thu, Aug 26 Seattle, WA White River Amphitheatre
Sun, Aug 29 Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Mon, Aug 30 Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre



Related Posts