Stream: The Beatles’ Rooftop Concert Audio Released to Help Commemorate 53rd Anniversary of Classic Performance


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This coming Sunday, Jan. 30, marks the 53rd anniversary of The Beatles‘ rooftop performance atop Apple Corps HQ in London.

For the first time, isolated audio recordings from the rooftop gig have been made available to the masses as part of the celebration, appearing on digital platforms late Thursday night/early Friday morning, Jan. 28, courtesy of Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe.

This news comes on the heels of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s unveiling of a special new Beatles-themed exhibit, which will make its debut on March 18.

The Beatles’ rooftop concert is a lasting snapshot of the group during the waning days of its time together. It’s a crucial element of The Beatles: Get Back documentary series, which band photographer Ethan Russell discussed with Rock Cellar in a recent feature interview.

Rock Cellar: Ethan, you were witness to 30 days of the Beatles recording and filming. What’s the story your photographs tell?

Ethan Russell: You know, it’s really more show than tell. I mean, that’s just the answer, right? There’s a lot of layers to what was going on with them at that period of time in particular. I literally was this young kid that came off the street [laughs] from San Francisco that managed to find myself there. And so for me, it was a lot about just being in their presence.

But then their presence was initially in Twickenham Film Studios, which turned out to be not supportable for a variety of reasons, and then they moved into the basement studio at Apple. So just from my point of view, my experience was working with not only the biggest act — they were bigger than an act. They were the biggest thing on the planet as far as I was concerned, and most people I know.

With my pictures, I don’t set stuff up. I didn’t then, and I didn’t for most of my career, I let the viewer be there. Simple as that. So if I’m four feet from the Beatles, so are you, and I think that’s the value my pictures bring.

Listen to the Beatles’ rooftop concert audio below:

Some additional anniversary festivities coming the next few days for Beatles fans all over the world:

Tomorrow (Friday, January 28), Norah Jones will release two rooftop tribute performance videos of Beatles songs from the Let It Be album, recently filmed with her band on the rooftop of New York’s Empire State Building. The two performances, “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “Let It Be,” will debut on Norah Jones’ YouTube Channel tomorrow at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT.

On SiriusXM, The Beatles Channel will debut “The Rooftop Concert Special” tomorrow at 11am EST, presenting The Beatles’ entire rooftop performance with commentary by Beatles historian, author, and radio producer Kevin Howlett. The special will re-air throughout the weekend on The Beatles Channel and will also be available to stream on the SXM App.

This Saturday, January 29, The Beatles LOVE by Cirque du Soleil will debut a rooftop performance tribute video for “Get Back” (LOVE Version), featuring cast members from the acclaimed stage production, now in its 15th year of wowing audiences at The Mirage Las Vegas. The performance video will debut on Cirque du Soleil’s YouTube Channel at 6am PST / 9am EST / 2pm GMT. A behind-the-scenes/making-of video for the cast’s rooftop tribute performance will debut an hour later on the channel at 7am PST / 10am EST / 3pm GMT.

This Sunday, January 30, the 53rd anniversary of The Beatles’ rooftop performance, Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut will present a special screening event exclusively at IMAX theaters in the US and UK of “The Beatles: Get Back-The Rooftop Concert.” The 60-minute feature presents The Beatles’ complete rooftop performance following a brief introduction. The special event screenings will begin with an exclusive filmmaker Q&A at 12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT. The concert, which features in its entirety in the Disney+ original docuseries “The Beatles: Get Back,” is optimized for IMAX screens, digitally remastered into the image and sound quality of The IMAX Experience® with proprietary IMAX DMR® (Digital Remastering) technology.



Related Posts