Hear ‘The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down’ from the Band’s ‘Brown Album’ 50th Anniversary Set Out Nov. 15

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Nov. 15, the Brown Album — otherwise known as the self-titled second album from the Band, will be reissued to commemorate its 50th anniversary.

Featuring remastered tunes and a treasure trove of unheard material, the set ought to be a must for fans — and as a preview, here’s a newly-released 2019 Mix of “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down’:

Via the news release;

Dressed like 19th century fire-and-brimstone preachers and singing rustic, sepia-toned songs about America and the deep south, The Band – Garth Hudson (keyboards, piano, horn), Levon Helm (drums, vocals, mandolin), Richard Manuel (keyboards, vocals, drums), Rick Danko (bass, vocals, fiddle) and Robbie Robertson (guitar, piano, vocals) – was an enigma, unlike any group that came before or after. And their self-titled “Brown Album,” as it would lovingly be called, cemented their status as one of the most exciting and revolutionary bands in years, on the strength of now-classic songs like “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” “Up On Cripple Creek” and “Rag Mama Rag.”

The 50th anniversary reissue project was overseen by guitarist/songwriter Robbie Robertson, and will come in a variety of formats, including:

Super Deluxe 2CD/Blu-ray/2LP/7-inch vinyl boxed set with a hardbound book



180-gram 2LP black vinyl

And limited edition 180-gram 2LP “tiger’s eye” color vinyl

An alternate version of the song “Rag Mama Rag” was previously released as a sample of the reissue:

Here’s the track listing for the 2-CD set version of the Brown Album reissue:

CD1; Digital

1. Across The Great Divide
2. Rag Mama Rag
3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
4. When You Awake
5. Up On Cripple Creek
6. Whispering Pines
7. Jemima Surrender
8. Rockin’ Chair
9. Look Out Cleveland
10. Jawbone
11. The Unfaithful Servant
12. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
Bonus Tracks:

1. Up On Cripple Creek (Earlier Take) *

2. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Version) *

3. The Unfaithful Servant (Alternate Version) *

4. Look Out Cleveland (Instrumental Mix) *

5. Rockin’ Chair (A Cappella / Stripped Down) *

6. Up On Cripple Creek (Instrumental Mix) *
* Previous unreleased


CD2; Digital
Live At Woodstock, 1969 (Original Rough Mixes)

1. Chest Fever

2. Tears Of Rage

3. We Can Talk

4. Don’t Ya Tell Henry

5. Baby Don’t You Do It

6. Ain’t No More Cane On The Brazos

7. Long Black Veil

8. This Wheel’s On Fire

9. I Shall Be Released

10. The Weight

11. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever

Additional Studio Bonus Tracks:

12. Get Up Jake (Outtake – Stereo Mix)

13. Rag Mama Rag (Alternate Vocal Take – Rough Mix)

14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Alternate Mix)

15. Up On Cripple Creek (Alternate Take)

16. Whispering Pines (Alternate Take)

17. Jemima Surrender (Alternate Take)

18. King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (Alternate Performance)


Related Posts