7/22-7/23: Summer Sonic Streaming Archival Performances from Green Day, Nine Inch Nails, Coldplay, Oasis and More on YouTube


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This week, the Summer Sonic Festival will dip into its vaults for the second installment in an archival series of uploads, streaming classic concert footage on the Japanese festival’s official YouTube page.

On Wednesday, July 22, the page will replay sets from Oasis (in 2005), Coldplay (in 2008), B’z (in 2009), The Flaming Lips (in 2009), Sigur Ros (in 2012), Boom Boom Satellites (in 2009) and Sonic Youth (in 2009):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYgzcyaW7mc

On Thursday, July 23, the Summer Sonic page will replay past performances from the likes of Green Day (in 2012), Nine Inch Nails (in 2009), Rihanna (in 2012), the Prodigy (in 2008) and X Japan (in 2011).

The video will go live at the following link:on Thursday, July at 8 p.m. Japan time (7:00 a.m. EDT/4 a.m. PDT), and will only remain available online for 24 hours.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNuhWZzW96g

Summer Sonic began in 2000 and is an annual two or three-day festival held at the same time in Osaka and Chiba, attracting bands and acts from across the world.

This year’s Summer Sonic was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and this archival streaming plan was conceptualized as a means of keeping fans entertained.

“Day 1” of Summer Sonic Archive Festival launched in June with past performances from Mr. Children (2013), BTS (2015), Linkin Park (2013), Metallica (2013), Arctic Monkeys (2014), The 1975 (2014), Underworld (2016) and Radiohead (2016), with this week’s programming the follow-up to that original batch of archival footage.

https://www.instagram.com/p/CC265UOnE2C/

In addition to the YouTube streams, a fundraising campaign from event organizers is also ongoing in hopes of raising money to support future festivals, when they are allowed to return.



Related Posts