Sufjan Stevens: New Album ‘The Ascension’ Announced, Single ‘America’ Premiering 7/3

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

On Sept. 25, Sufjan Stevens will release his eighth solo album, The Ascension, via Asthmatic Kitty.

The record was announced on Tuesday, along with word that the album’s lead single, “America,” will premiere on Friday, July 3.

Per a news release, “America” has a run time of 12:29, which is rather intriguing, given the scope and grandiosity that has come to exemplify the work of Stevens over the years. Take “Impossible Soul” for example, the 25-minute track that closed out Stevens’ heralded 2010 album The Age of Adz:

Stevens is an irreverently unpredictable artist of the highest degree, and his penchant for envelope-pushing has come to exemplify his career to this point, one that spans more than two decades and counting.

The Ascension follows Stevens’ recent collaborative album Aporia, an experimental/new age effort with his stepfather, Lowell Brams. That LP was released back in late March.

The Ascension, though, is considered the follow-up to Carrie & Lowell, Sufjan Stevens’ 2015 record that was met with universal acclaim.

Here’s the track listing for The Ascension, which is available for pre-order at this link.

  1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
  2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
  3. Video Game (4:16)
  4. Lamentations (3:42)
  5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
  6. Die Happy (5:47)
  7. Ativan (6:32)
  8. Ursa Major (3:43)
  9. Landslide (5:04)
  10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
  11. Death Star (4:04)
  12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
  13. Sugar (7:37)
  14. The Ascension (5:56)
  15. America (12:30)

Related Posts