New from Sufjan Stevens: Stream ‘My Rajneesh,’ the (10-Minute) B-Side to His New (12-Minute) Single ‘America’

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Two songs, 22 minutes. That’s not the sort of thing you’d expect from nearly any musical act, but Sufjan Stevens isn’t just any musical act.

The innovative and always creatively expansive singer/songwriter returned just before the 4th of July holiday weekend with his new single, “America,” a 12-minute song that serves as a preview to his upcoming album, The Ascension.

The b-side of that single is a track called “My Rajneesh,” which itself spans more than 10 minutes in length. The song won’t be included on the new album, though, and coupled with “America” the two tracks comprise Stevens’ new America EP.

Stream “My Rajneesh” below:

Pitchfork detailed just what “My Rajneesh” is about, noting that the artwork:

“… is an illustration by Stephen Halker of Rajneesh (aka Bhagwan Shri Rajneesh or Osho)—the founder of the Rajneesh movement that was famously chronicled in the documentary series Wild Wild Country.”

The two songs made up the new America EP from Sufjan Stevens, which was available as a 12″ vinyl until it sold out on Stevens’ official site. 

The Ascension follows Stevens’ recent collaborative album Aporia, an experimental/new age effort with his stepfather, Lowell Brams. That LP was released back in late March.

The Ascension, though, is considered the follow-up to Carrie & Lowell, Sufjan Stevens’ 2015 record that was met with universal acclaim.

Said Stevens of the new album:

“My objective for this album was simple: Interrogate the world around you. Question anything that doesn’t hold water. Exterminate all bullshit. Be part of the solution or get out of the way. Keep it real. Keep it true. Keep it simple. Keep it moving.”

Here’s the track listing for The Ascension, which is available for pre-order at this link.

  1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse (5:19)
  2. Run Away With Me (4:07)
  3. Video Game (4:16)
  4. Lamentations (3:42)
  5. Tell Me You Love Me (4:22)
  6. Die Happy (5:47)
  7. Ativan (6:32)
  8. Ursa Major (3:43)
  9. Landslide (5:04)
  10. Gilgamesh (3:50)
  11. Death Star (4:04)
  12. Goodbye To All That (3:48)
  13. Sugar (7:37)
  14. The Ascension (5:56)
  15. America (12:30)

Related Posts