Out Now: Sting ‘The Bridge,’ the First Album from the Police Front Man Since 2015 (Listen)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Today, Nov. 19, Sting returned with The Bridge, a new solo album that marks the Police front man‘s first since 2015.

He previewed it in recent weeks with a few tracks, including “If It’s Love,” which co-stars dancers from the Message In A Bottle stage show:

And “Rushing Water”:

Click here to pick up The Bridge on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pick up The Bridge on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

A press release notes that The Bridge was written by Sting during the pandemic, and finds him, “ruminating on personal loss, separation, disruption, lockdown, and extraordinary social and political turmoil.” More:

“These songs are between one place and another, between one state of mind and another, between life and death, between relationships,” Sting said. “Between pandemics, and between eras – politically, socially and psychologically, all of us are stuck in the middle of something. We need a bridge.”

The album’s track listing:

1. Rushing Water
2. If It’s Love
3. The Book of Numbers
4. Loving You
5. Harmony Road
6. For Her Love
7. The Hills on the Border
8. Captain Bateman
9. The Bells of St. Thomas
10. The Bridge
11. Waters of Tyne (Deluxe bonus track)
12. Captain Bateman’s Basement (Deluxe bonus track)
13. (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay (Deluxe bonus track)

Rolling Stone noted that the album features a number of musical guests, among them Dominic Miller (guitar), Josh Freese (drums), Branford Marsalis (saxophone), Manu Katché (drums), Martin Kierszenbaum (keyboards), Fred Renaudin (synthesizer) and backing vocalists Melissa Musique, Gene Noble, Jo Lawry and Laila Biali.

Stream The Bridge below.

Related Posts