Sting Debuts “If It’s Love,” New Solo Album ‘The Bridge’ Coming 11/19 (Pre-Order)

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Nov. 19, Sting will return with a new solo album titled The Bridge. It will be the legendary vocalist/songwriter/The Police front man’s 13th solo album of new material to date, and the first since 2016’s 57th & 9th.

The lead single, as debuted Wednesday, is the lively “If It’s Love,” a pleasant-sounding track led by a whistle and lyrics about the “sickness” of love:

If it’s love, it has no season
If it’s love, there is no cure
If it’s love, it won’t see reason
And of this you can be sure

“I’m certainly not the first songwriter to equate falling in or out of love with an incurable sickness, nor will I be the last,” said Sting in a statement about the track. “’If It’s Love’ is my addition to that canon where the tropes of metaphorical symptoms, diagnosis, and downright incapacity are all familiar enough to make each of us smile ruefully.”

Click here to pre-order The Bridge on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Bridge on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

A press release notes that The Bridge was written by Sting during the pandemic, and finds him, “ruminating on personal loss, separation, disruption, lockdown, and extraordinary social and political turmoil.” More:

“These songs are between one place and another, between one state of mind and another, between life and death, between relationships,” Sting said. “Between pandemics, and between eras – politically, socially and psychologically, all of us are stuck in the middle of something. We need a bridge.”

The album’s track listing:

1. Rushing Water
2. If It’s Love
3. The Book of Numbers
4. Loving You
5. Harmony Road
6. For Her Love
7. The Hills on the Border
8. Captain Bateman
9. The Bells of St. Thomas
10. The Bridge
11. Waters of Tyne (Deluxe bonus track)
12. Captain Bateman’s Basement (Deluxe bonus track)
13. (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay (Deluxe bonus track)

Rolling Stone noted that the album features a number of musical guests, among them Dominic Miller (guitar), Josh Freese (drums), Branford Marsalis (saxophone), Manu Katché (drums), Martin Kierszenbaum (keyboards), Fred Renaudin (synthesizer) and backing vocalists Melissa Musique, Gene Noble, Jo Lawry and Laila Biali.

Related Posts