Watch Sting’s New Video for the Upbeat “If It’s Love,” Featuring Dancers from the ‘Message in a Bottle’ Stage Show

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Sting has been previewing a new solo record, The Bridge, with a couple of pre-release tracks in recent weeks. The album, due out on Nov. 19, will be the legendary vocalist/songwriter/The Police front man’s 13th solo album of new material to date, and the first since 2016’s 57th & 9th.

“If It’s Love” was the first song shared from the album, an upbeat track built around a pleasant whistling refrain. The song now has a music video, depicting Sting sitting in a theater singing to the camera while dancers from the Message In A Bottle stage show do their thing onstage:

Click here to pre-order The Bridge on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order The Bridge on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Another, more narrative-styled music video was recently debuted for “Rushing Water”:

A press release notes that The Bridge was written by Sting during the pandemic, and finds him, “ruminating on personal loss, separation, disruption, lockdown, and extraordinary social and political turmoil.” More:

“These songs are between one place and another, between one state of mind and another, between life and death, between relationships,” Sting said. “Between pandemics, and between eras – politically, socially and psychologically, all of us are stuck in the middle of something. We need a bridge.”

The album’s track listing:

1. Rushing Water
2. If It’s Love
3. The Book of Numbers
4. Loving You
5. Harmony Road
6. For Her Love
7. The Hills on the Border
8. Captain Bateman
9. The Bells of St. Thomas
10. The Bridge
11. Waters of Tyne (Deluxe bonus track)
12. Captain Bateman’s Basement (Deluxe bonus track)
13. (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay (Deluxe bonus track)

Rolling Stone noted that the album features a number of musical guests, among them Dominic Miller (guitar), Josh Freese (drums), Branford Marsalis (saxophone), Manu Katché (drums), Martin Kierszenbaum (keyboards), Fred Renaudin (synthesizer) and backing vocalists Melissa Musique, Gene Noble, Jo Lawry and Laila Biali.

Related Posts