Toto’s Steve Lukather and Joseph Williams Are Releasing Solo Albums on Feb. 26, 2021; Hosting Live Stream Gig 11/21

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Steve Lukather and Joseph Williams, longtime musical colleagues/band mates in Toto and close friends, will both release their own solo albums on Feb. 26, 2021 — and it should come with little surprise that they contributed heavily to each other’s records, Lukather’s titled I Found the Sun Again and Williams’s titled Denizen Tenant.

Click here to pre-order Steve Lukather’s I Found the Sun Again on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Steve Lukather’s I Found the Sun Again on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

Click here to pre-order Joseph Williams’s Denizen Tenant on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Joseph Williams’s Denizen Tenant on 2-LP from our Rock Cellar Store

The news was announced recently, and comes on the heels of Lukather’s August single, “Run to Me,” which features Williams and none other than Ringo Starr:

“Luke” shared the song a few months back, sparked into action by the COVID-19 pandemic and everything else going on at the time:

“I wanted to release this now because it fits the moment. A time where we all need a happy song for an unhappy time. When I got together with Joseph Williams and David Paich to collaborate on the songwriting, there was pure collective inspiration amongst the three of us to articulate this message of hope directed towards our daughters.  Musically, the song is absolutely influenced by my growing up in the Sixties, inspired by some of my favorite elements of the repertoire that defined that indelible era.  And, Ringo, what can I say. It is an honor to have his contribution captured on a song of mine, much less his gracious presence in the video. Over the course of the last decade, we’ve become dear friends travelling The World with one another, and much like Paich and Williams, I am certainly blessed to have these talented, amazing human beings in my life as both band mates and friends. As we all look towards the unknown of this crazy world we are living in, simply my hope is this tune brings a little peace, love and pleasant distraction to these uncertain times.”

In connection with the news of the two upcoming albums, Williams shared a new song of his own. Here’s his video for “Never Saw You Coming”:

Said Williams of the song:

 “’Never Saw You Coming’ is my first opportunity in ages to show my true sound.  Although my album is an eclectic collection of songs, this one tells you what you need to know to get a real sense of the whole. You can see where I’m going vocally for sure. It all starts with ‘Never Saw You Coming,’ plus I thought it was time we had a cool sexy song about death! Enjoy …”

Lukather’s album features five new original songs and three covers: “Welcome to the Club” by Joe Walsh, “The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys” by Traffic and “Bridge of Sighs” by Robin Trower. The full track listing:

1. Along For The Ride
2. Serpent Soul
3. The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys
4. Journey Through
5. Welcome To The Club
6. I Found The Sun Again
7. Run To Me
8. Bridge Of Sighs

Williams’s album features twelve new recordings, including covers of “If I Fell” by the Beatles and “Don’t Give Up” by Peter Gabriel. The full track listing:

1. Never Saw You Coming
2. Liberty Man
3. Denizen Tenant
4. Wilma Fingadoux
5. Black Dahlia (feat. David Paich)
6. Don’t Give Up (feat. Hannah Ruick)
7. The Dream
8. Remember Her (feat. Steve Lukather)
9. No Lessons
10. Mistress Winter’s Jump
11. If I Fell (feat. Steve Lukather)
12. World Broken

In addition to all of this, Lukather and Williams will host a special live stream concert event this Saturday, Nov. 21:

Related Posts