Steve Howe of Yes Details New Album ‘Love Is,’ Due Out 7/31 via BMG

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Steve Howe, legendary guitarist for prog-rock icons Yes, will release a new solo album titled Love Is on July 31 via BMG.

The album was originally going to be released in April, but was subsequently delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic. Featuring five instrumental compositions and five songs with vocals, this will be the first new release from Howe since his all-instrumental record Time in 2011.

Fully taking control of the project, Howe “sings lead vocals and plays electric, acoustic and steel guitars, keyboards, percussion and bass guitar on the instrumentals, while Yes vocalist Jon Davison provides vocal harmonies and plays bass guitar on the vocal tracks. The album also features Dylan Howe on drums,” per a press release.

A project in the works for a while, Howe holds strong feelings toward Love Is and he’s eager to get it out to the masses:

“I called the album LOVE IS because it hints at the central idea that that love is important but also love of the universe and the ecology of the world is very important. Alexander Humboldt went around the world and recognized we are destroying the planet but that was 200 years ago! We are still destroying the planet and, I suppose, my songs show the yearning I have for the love of nature and how beauty, art and music all stem from nature. There is a theme about those things, love, beauty, ecology, nature and wonderful people.

The album’s track listing:

1 Fulcrum *
2 See Me Through
3 Beyond The Call *
4 Love Is A River
5 Sound Picture *
6 It Ain’t Easy
7 Pause For Thought *
8 Imagination
9 The Headlands *
10 On The Balcony
* instrumental

Related Posts