Staind Releasing New Album ‘Live: It’s Been Awhile’ 5/7, Announce Two-Part Global Streaming Series


Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

In 2019, Staind reunited after a five-year hiatus for a few shows that were to be the precursor to a heavy year of touring in 2020 … only for the COVID-19 pandemic to ruin those plans, of course.

Despite the setback, Aaron Lewis and his band mates will be releasing their first album in nine years on May 7. That’s a big gap between releases, and Staind found the perfect title for it: Live: It’s Been Awhile, named after their mega-successful 2001 single from the album Break the Cycle.

Surely you remember it:

The live album is connected to a new two-part global streaming series in partnership with Danny Wimmer Presents. The series launches with a global stream on May 1 with the Live: It’s Been Awhile (From Foxwoods) concert. The Live: It’s Been Awhile album and concert were recorded at the band’s comeback show at Foxwoods Resort Casino in Mashantucket, CT in October 2019, shortly after the band’s reunion.

“These were the first grouping of shows we played together in 2019, when we were gearing up for what was to be a very busy 2020…that never happened,” said Lewis. “I’m glad we captured that energy here and can share it with those who couldn’t be at Foxwoods.”

Click here to pre-order Live: It’s Been Awhile on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Live: It’s Been Awhile on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

On May 8, Staind will also host a streaming event geared around commemorating the 20th anniversary of Break the Cycle, exactly 20 years after its release in 2001. It was the band’s breakthrough album led by “It’s Been Awhile,” and the group will perform it in its entirety in a virtual performance at Mill 1 in Open Square in Holyoke, Massachusetts.

Both global streaming events debut at 2:00 PM PDT / 5:00 PM EDT / 10:00 PM BST / 11:00 PM CEST on their respective days and will be available on-demand for 72 hours. More details and ticketing information is available at StaindLive.com.

The live album track listing:

  1. Eyes Wide Open (Live)
  2. Paper Jesus (Live)
  3. Not Again (Live)
  4. Fade (Live)
  5. For You (Live)
  6. Something (Live)
  7. Intro (Live)
  8. Crawl (Live)
  9. Right Here (Live)
  10. Outside (Live)
  11. Paper Wings (Live)
  12. So Far Away (Live)
  13. Raw (Live)
  14. It’s Been Awhile (Live)
  15. Mudshovel (Live)



Related Posts