Smith/Kotzen (Richie Kotzen & Iron Maiden’s Adrian Smith) Debut New Single ‘Running’; LP Out 3/26

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

Iron Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith and fellow guitarist Richie Kotzen (he of a prolific solo career and stints with Poison and Mr. Big) recently announced a new projectSmith/Kotzen, and will release their debut album on March 26. They’ve been previewing the album in recent weeks with a handful of tracks, and they’re loud, brash rock anthems — precisely what you’d hope for from rockers of their pedigree.

The latest single is “Running,” highlighted by some buzz saw guitars and a barrage of energy. Here’s its lyric video:

Said Smith of the song: “It’s a really cool sort of driving track, one of the heavier ones on the album and we’re excited to get it out there ahead of the album release. We’ve both been thrilled by the reaction to our music so far and are very much looking forward to meeting up again as soon as we can, to write some more songs together.”  

Kotzen added: “Running was the first song Adrian and I worked on.  Adrian came in with that heavy verse riff which lead me to conjuring up what lives as our chorus to the composition.  Running is surely one of my top three favorites on the Smith/Kotzen album and I really look forward to playing this one live”.

Click here to pre-order Smith/Kotzen on CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Smith/Kotzen on LP from our Rock Cellar Store

“Running” joins a pair of other songs debuted thus far from the album. Here’s the epic power ballad “Scars”:

And the high-energy “Taking My Chances”:

Per a news release, Smith/Kotzen was recorded in February 2020 — just before the COVID-19 pandemic — on the Turks & Caicos Islands. Self-produced by Smith and Kotzen and mixed by Kevin ‘Caveman’ Shirley, the album features nine songs and embodies the spirited attitude of 70’s classic rock with a melting-pot of influences ranging from blues, hard rock, traditional R&B and more.

It also features contributions from drummer Nicko McBrain, Smith’s band mate in Iron Maiden, who lends his skills to the song “Solar Fire.” Kotzen’s musical pal Tal Bergman also plays drums on three songs, with Kotzen manning the kit for the remainder of the record.

Said Smith: “Richie and I started working together a couple of years ago. We’d been jamming as we’d been friends for a few years before that. We both share a love for classic rock and bluesy rock so we decided to get together and start writing some songs and it went from there. Pretty much everything on the album is handled between Richie and myself including the production. We had developed a really strong idea of how we wanted it to sound and I’m very pleased with how it turned out. There’s a lot of cool songs on there that we are really happy with.”

Richie Kotzen added: “We had a very fluid process in writing. Sometimes Adrian would send me a riff and I would immediately hear some kind of melody or a vocal idea. And sometimes it was the other way round so it was a kind of circular motion. We’d get together whenever we could and throw some ideas around and it just evolved, which was great because there was no pressure and nothing other than just a natural course and I think the record really speaks for that.”

The track listing:

  1. Taking My Chances
  2. Running
  3. Scars
  4. Some People
  5. Glory Road
  6. Solar Fire
  7. You Don’t Know Me
  8. I Wanna Stay
  9. ‘Til Tomorrow

Related Posts