Smashing Pumpkins Announce Double-Album ‘Cyr’ Out 11/27 and New Animated Series Debuting 9/25

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Aug. 28, Billy Corgan and the Smashing Pumpkins officially announced their return — again — with a pair of new songs, and it turns out the new material is a preview of the group‘s upcoming double-album, Cyr.

Officially detailed on Friday, Cyr will be released on Nov. 27 and was produced by Corgan. The record combines the forces of Corgan, guitarist James Iha, drummer Jimmy Chamberlin and guitarist Jeff Schroeder, and will be the band’s first release since Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. in 2018, which came after the band’s big semi-reunion tour that reconnected Corgan, Iha and Chamberlin after years apart.

(Click here to pre-order the Smashing Pumpkins’ Cyr from our Rock Cellar Store).

The new songs shared a few weeks back were “Cyr” and “The Colour of Love,” which you can stream/watch below:

Corgan referred to “Cyr” in a statement as “dystopic folly,” “one soul against the world sort of stuff, set against a backdrop of shifting loyalties and sped up time. To me it stands as both hopeful and dismissive of what is and isn’t possible with faith.”

Because Corgan continually pushes the envelope of what people expect from him and his creative projects, the Smashing Pumpkins also have a new animated series debuting soon. Here’s a trailer for “In Ashes,” which will reportedly begin on Sept. 25:

And here’s the album tracklisting for Cyr:

1. The Colour Of Love
2. Confessions Of A Dopamine Addict
3. Cyr
4. Dulcet In E
5. Wrath
6. Ramona
7. Anno Satana
8. Birch Grove
9. Wyttch
10. Starrcraft
11. Purple Blood
12. Save Your Tears
13. Telegenix
14. Black Forest, Black Hills
15. Adrennalynne
16. Haunted
17. The Hidden Sun
18. Schaudenfreud
19. Tyger, Tyger
20. Minerva

Related Posts