Sharon Van Etten, Julien Baker & Angel Olsen to Head Out on ‘The Wild Hearts’ Co-Headlining Tour in Summer


Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

This summer, three pillars of of the indie singer/songwriter scene will join forces for co-headlining outing when Sharon Van Etten, Julien Baker and Angel Olsen embark on The Wild Hearts tour.

After a social media tease on Friday, the news was made official on Monday. The tour will find each artist playing with her respective backing band, and it’s an entirely outdoor venue run except for shows at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville and Massey Hall in Toronto.

In terms of material, Van Etten’s most recent studio album was 2019’s Remind Me Tomorrow, Baker’s was 2021’s Little Oblivions and Olsen’s was 2020’s Whole New Mess, not counting her recent EP of 1980s covers. Probably safe to expect songs from throughout each musicians’ catalog, as well as, perhaps, some surprises? We’ll find out in the summer.

The dates:

Thu. Jul. 21 – Vienna, VA @ Wolf Trap Center For the Performing Arts *
Fri. Jul. 22 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *
Sat. Jul. 23 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Mon. Jul. 25 – Austin, TX @ Moody Amphitheater *
Fri. Jul. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *
Sat. Jul 30 – Berkeley, Ca @ Greek Theatre *
Tu. Aug. 2 – Troutdale, OR @ McMenamins Edgefield Amphitheater *
Wed. Aug. 3 – Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater *
Fri. Aug. 5 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Garden *
Sat. Aug. 6 – Salt Lake City, UT @ TBA *
Sun. Aug. 7 – Denver, CO @ Sculpture Park *
Tue. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Surly Brewing Festival Field *
Wed. Aug 10 – Chicago, IL @ TBA *
Thu. Aug. 11 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell’s Eccentric Cafe *
Fri. Aug. 12 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
Mon. Aug. 15 – Shelburne, VT @ The Green at Shelburne Museum *
Tue. Aug. 16 – LaFayette, NY @ Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *
Thu. Aug. 18 – Boston, MA @ Leader Bank Pavilion *
Fri. Aug. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Skyline Stage at The Mann *
Sun. Aug. 21 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

  • = with Spencer.

Some quotes about the tour from Sharon Van Etten, Julien Baker and Angel Olsen:

I’m so thrilled to be traveling and playing music alongside Spencer., Julien Baker and Sharon Van Etten. It’s truly a dream, something to hold and share collaboratively as we get out from under the last few years. I know for fans it’s something different and special too, and for me, it’s sort of like a caravan summer camp-a chance to get to know other artists in a deeper way and talk about music and life and how it affects us all as we move forward. Most of all, I am excited to sing live again, in an open and real way, both alone and together with my tourmates.” – Angel Olsen

Sharon and Angel are artists that I have genuinely admired for many years and whose music has honestly informed much of my own writing and music making, and I’m thrilled to be sharing a stage with them every nightI think after interacting with their recorded work separately so much, it will be special to get to learn from them as we share the space of performance.– Julien Baker

Our aim is to strengthen our respective communities and promote camaraderie in the music world in a safe and enjoyable environment while supporting, A New Way Of Life, an organization that we feel is making genuine impact for the underserved. We have carefully chosen the venues we think will deliver the best experience for us and our fans. I look up to Angel and have the deepest admiration for Julien and Spencer.. It is an honor, to say the least, to be able to share the stage with such talent on a tour across North America.” – Sharon Van Etten



Related Posts