Seether Premieres Animated Video for New Song ‘Dangerous,’ Announces New Album ‘Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum’ Out 8/28

Adrian GarroCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

South African hard rock band Seether will release its eighth studio album on August 28 when Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum (“If You Want Peace, Prepare For War”) is unleashed via Fantasy Records.

The first album from Seether since 2017’s Poison the Parish, Seether previewed the new record with a creepy animated music video for “Dangerous,” riffing on the Little Red Riding Hood theme to sinister effect.

Thematically, the song finds vocalist/guitarist Shaun Morgan expressing some pretty dark thoughts:

It’s so dangerous all this blamelessness
And I feel like I lost all the good I’ve known

The song’s lyrics match the video’s tone perfectly:

“These songs are carefully crafted to nestle in your ears like a tiny velvet rabbit clutching a switch-blade,” said Morgan in a statement about the new album. “This whole album is kind of me going through that process. I’m exposing myself to a degree I’m not normally comfortable with,” he says. “But I think it’s OK. I’m proud to be a little bit more vulnerable on this album.”

Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum has been ready to go for a few months, after being mixed and engineered by Matt Hyde in December/January. The record will be the first from Seether and its newest member, guitarist/vocalist Corey Lowery.

Originally forming in 1999, Seether has become something of a rock institution on the global scale, earning a massive audience of dedicated fans and several modern rock radio hits and successful albums along the way.

Here’s the album‘s track listing:

1. Dead And Done
2. Bruised And Bloodied
3. Wasteland
4. Dangerous
5. Liar
6. Can’t Go Wrong
7. Buried In The Sand
8. Let It Go
9. Failure
10. Beg
11. Drift Away
12. Pride Before The Fall
13. Written In Stone

Related Posts