Hear Two New Santana Songs, Including the Feel-Good “Move” — ft. Rob Thomas, a Sequel to “Smooth”

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

If it worked once, why not try again? That’s part of the mindset behind “Move,” a new single from Santana featuring Rob Thomas that brings the two together in a sequel, of sorts, to their global smash-hit “Smooth,” which was released in 1999 and would go on to become one of the most successful songs ever.

Shared on Wednesday, the track — also featuring vocals from American Authors — is a preview of Blessings and Miracles, a new Santana record set for release on Oct. 15. As you’d expect, “Move” is a highly danceable tune with warm, infectious melodies not dissimilar from their original team-up:

“‘Move’ came about very much like how ‘Smooth’ happened,” Santana said in a statement. “It was like divine intelligence behind the scenes, and I just knew I had to record it with Rob. The song is about awakening your molecules. Ignite and activate yourself – you know, move. When Rob and I work together, we have a sound that’s splendiferous.”

Another track shared from the album is “She’s Fire,” a collaboration with Diane Warren and rapper G-Eazy:

“She’s Fire” is one of two Warren-penned songs that appear on the record.

“I’m so honored that Diane reached out to me and sent me her songs,” said Santana. Regarding G-Eazy: “He’s so talented. I’m thrilled at how we both sound on this song,” he says. “It reminds me of when Bill Graham once told me: ‘Your music is spiritual and sensual. That’s who you are.’ And that’s the message of ‘She’s Fire.’”

Revisiting the inspiration that spawned 1999’s Supernatural album, Santana teams up with a host of other notable names for the new record, the guest list including Chris Stapleton, Steve Winwood, Chick Corea, Rick Rubin, Corey Glover, Kirk Hammett, Ally Brooke and Narada Michael Walden, among others.

Of the many guests who join him on the record, he says:

“I don’t choose people – it’s like I’m chosen. But, of course, I’m honored to work with such incredible artists. I’m a surfer riding those waves that become songs by different artists, creators and architects. I’m very fortunate that I have the opportunity to do that. It’s a gift I don’t take for granted.”

santana blessings and miracles

As for the backing band supporting the legendary guitarist, a news release notes that Blessings and Miracles “features bravura performances from members of Santana’s touring band (including drummer Cindy Blackman Santana and singer Tommy Anthony), as well as impeccable vocals and keyboards by the guitarist’s son, Salvador Santana, and stunning lead vocals by daughter, Stella Santana.”

The album’s track listing:

1. Ghost of Future Pull/ New Light
2. Santana Celebration
3. Rumbalero (featuring Salvador Santana & Asdru Sierra)
4. Joy (Carlos Santana & Chris Stapleton)
5. Move (Carlos Santana, Rob Thomas, Zac Barnett & American Authors)
6. A Whiter Shade of Pale (featuring Steve Winwood)
7. Break (featuring Ally Brooke)
8. She’s Fire (Diane Warren, G-Eazy & Carlos Santana)
9. Peace Power (featuring Corey Glover)
10. America for Sale (featuring Kirk Hammett & Marc Osegueda)
11. Breathing Underwater (featuring Stella Santana, Avi Snow, MVCA)
12. Mother Yes
13. Song for Cindy
14. Angel Choir (featuring Gayle Moran Corea)/ All Together (featuring Chick Corea)
15. Ghost of Future Pull II

Related Posts