Ronnie Wood of the Rolling Stones Prepping a Chuck Berry Live Tribute Album

Rock Cellar Magazine StaffCategories:Latest News

Rock Cellar Magazine

On Nov. 15, the acclaimed Ronnie Wood, known for his ongoing work with the Rolling Stones in addition to a wide array of personal passion projects, will release Mad Lad: A Live Tribute to Chuck Berry.

As its name suggests, it will be a collection of live recordings paying homage to the late, great Chuck Berry, who passed away in 2017. The recordings were made at a live gig from Wood and his band at Wimborne’s Tivoli Theatre in 2018.

Via the news release announcing the record:

The album will be the first in a trilogy to be recorded by Wood and the band in the coming years, each paying tribute to Ronnie’s musical heroes. Ronnie chose Chuck Berry for the first album as he has been a lifelong fan, has toured with him and also, to honour his sad passing just over two years ago.

The album is released as Ronnie is due to be honoured at the London Film Festival (12th October) with the premiere of the Mike Figgis directed Somebody Up There Likes Me, an in-depth documentary about Ronnie’s life and careers both in the Rolling Stones and in the art studio. The film will be released in early 2020.

And the album’s track listing:

1. “Tribute to Chuck Berry”
2. “Talking About You”
3. “Mad Lad”
4. “Wee Wee Hours” Feat Imelda May
5. “Almost Grown” Feat Imelda May
6. “Back In The USA”
7. “Blue Feeling”
8. “Worried Life Blues”
9. “Little Queenie”
10. “Rock ‘N’ Roll Music’ Feat Imelda May
11. “Johnny B Goode”

Related Posts